Question Audio Technica LP60 or Marantz TT5005

MadsT

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi

I am new to vinyl and are looking for a cheap, but decent, turntable. After much research I have come down to the Audio Technica LP60 or Marantz TT5005. I am not interested in a used turntable.

Does anybody have any experience with these two?

If you look at the tonearm, there turntables are virtually identical -

Audio Technica ATLP60USB USB Turntable - Superfi

Sony PSLX300USB USB Turntable - Superfi

Denon DP200USB USB Turntable - Superfi

Marantz UK | TT5005

If that is the limit of your budget, then The Audio Technica LP60 is probably OK, but just OK. It is very much to your advantage to be able to raise you budget a bit.

For example, the Audio Technica LP120 is a massively better entry level turntable -

Audio Technica ATLP120USBC USB Turntable - Superfi

But at £250, they are not exactly giving them away.

For a similar price, a bit less, the Project Essential III should be very good -

Project Essential III Turntable - Superfi

Moving down just a bit -

Flexson VinylPlay Digital Turntable - Superfi

Dropping under £200, these are probably still good turntables, and better than the LP60. I'm basing this mostly on the apparent quality of the tonearm -

Project Essential II Turntable - Superfi

Project Essential II Turntable (Opened Box, Black) - Superfi

Lenco L90 USB Turntable with Built in Pre Amplifier - Superfi

Lenco L3807 Professional Turntable - Superfi

Reloop RP1000M DJ Turntable - Superfi

However, at rock bottom, a turntable like the LP60 would not damage your records, but that kind of money only buys you just so much.

If you can push up to the Project Essential II, that is probably your best turntable for the money.

There is nothing wrong with the LP60 and similar, but it is about the lowest standard in a still acceptable turntable.

Steve/bluewizard

Hi Steve,