1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audio system for my PC... a little help?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by spike095, Dec 9, 2003.

1. spike095

spike095

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I've slowly begun upgrading my PC audio system as I realized I listen to music pretty much 8-10 hours a day. Keep in mind I'm a poor coIlege student in a tiny dorm room. I owned the Altec Lansing 621 Multimedia Speaker system. First, I added an M-Audio Revolution 7.1 sound card to my PC. Now I've swapped out the Altec 621 satellites with some Wharfedale Diamond 7.2s. While the Wharfedales sound great, they are SERIOUSLY underpowered... the minimum recommended wattage of the Wharfedales is 50 watts @ 8ohms, while my altecs' old sub puts out somewhere betwee 35-45 watts @ 4 ohms... meaning my wharfedales are struggling. My question is: if I only have $150 more to spend, what can I do to improve this system? I was looking at picking up a Velodyne VX10... but I have a few questions. As the Velodyne has an amplifier, does this mean I don't need to get a receiver/amp? (the altec 621 sub is pretty much sub/amp all in one... albiet a weak one). If so, will I still be able to control the speaker amplification volume? If this VX10 / Wharfedale combination is no good, what other options can I consider? All of the cheap receivers I looked at were terrible... I want to give my Wharfedales the power they deserve, but I want to keep my system 2.1 and stay under $150. Any advice you can give would be great! I know this a rather weird question and I am not that knowledgable...

2. GrahamC

GrahamC

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +67