Audio setup for stereo music listening

RNoronha

Novice Member
Hello,

I purchased a Yamaha RN-602 network receiver and currently paired it up to the Bose Acoustimass 5 V stereo system. I do not enjoy the base reproduction from this system and have temporarily deployed an Altec Lansing sub woofer to compensate the bass. Of course the sub woofer is part of a basic 5.1 multimedia speaker system. What would be the right sub woofer to purchase to pair with this system keeping in mind the specs of the receiver and the acoustimass system. If you need spec details of these, let me know.

In general how do I improve my audio experience with the units I already possess.

Many Thanks

Jason72

Hi,
I'm a bitof a hi-fi novice but have owned three different Bose speaker systems in years gone by.
My first instinct would be to try the Bose system on it's own with the RN-602 and try re-positioning the sub unit to see if you attain a better bass response. There are set methods for positioning sub units that entail crawling around on all fours listening for improved bass response (good luck with that one). Secondly, make sure you have the 'direct' switch employed on the amplifier. This tends to improve the quality of the sound.

BlueWizard

Ummmm .... that is quit a bit more amp than speaker. The Bose appear to have a Passive Sub since it only has speaker level inputs. But if that's what you have then that is what we work with.

Just for the Photos and Specs -

I don't imagine the Sub has a very large bass driver, and I don't imagine that it goes very deep. In fact, I would suspect there are Bookshelf Speakers that go deeper than that Sub. Bose tends to be very silent on the exact specs of their systems. Even the Bose website is not very informative.