Audio novice seeking advice on separate set up

bigdaddysokol

Standard Member
Reaction score
As the title suggests I am an audio novice who currently owns a low spec separates package (marantz pm4200, marantz cd6000 and Jamo E800 speakers).
Would like to start upgrading to a 5.1 set-up but, despite checking these forums am unsure as to which direction I should be taking.

Film, tv and gaming would all be utilised by the system, but music would be the main consideration.

My cashflow is pretty loooow :( and so I was hoping to spend around £250ish on a new amp/receiver (If this is the way to go).

Speaker wise, I am unsure on a budget as I don't know what the best option would be. Was looking at the Canton CD range in the powerbuy section but wasn't sure if they are more suitable for home cinema than music??

Wouldn't mind investing in 2nd hand goods if people think this is a good option

Don't want to take the plunge on any equipment until I know what to look for so some knowledgable advice from any AV experts would be greatly received :smashin:

If music is your main consideration, stick to 2-channels. Your money will go a lot further. Divide your budget by 5, 6 or 7 (plus a sub), and compare with dividing by 2 for stereo. Higher quality will be the result, all things considered.

Buying 2nd hand can be great, but be careful. Buying from dealers (ex-demo, or traded stock) is safer. You will usually be able to listen to the item, and maybe get a warranty of some sorts - even if it's only 3 months. Private purchases are a bigger risk.