Audio Hi-Fi Boost - Thoughts

tjsilva

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I've been learning tremendously from you. Thank you for that.

I gave up my bose plans and got my initial 5.1.2 set up as follows:

AV receiver Onkyo RZ-TX 820
Vizio P65-C1
klipsch RP-280FA
klipsch R-115SW (a beast)
klipsch RP-450C
klipsch RP-250S

I am amazed and now ready to explore audio hi-fi enhancements.

I am considering:

(i) a streamer, and thought about Cambridge CXN;
(ii) a CD player (ideally combined with a blue-ray), and thought about Oppo 205-D or Cambridge CXUHD 4k
(iii) a turntable, and thought about Rega Planar 1
(iv) last step would be a power amp or integrated stereo amp, not sure what would better fit the above, and thought about Cambridge CXA80 or Monoprice Monolith 2ch. Importantly, I would like to be able to hook my sub to the stereo amp.

As I am still a beginner, please let me know if the above makes any sense, or if I am missing anything.

My main target is to find a system that extracts the most from my speakers, but under a reasonable price. For instance, I would only consider Oppo 205-D over CXUHD if the difference is really worth the extra money. The same applying for the separate streamer. Would just consider it if the difference is effective. I must say though that I mostly listen to Spotify and Tidal, so a streamer is in principle a number 1 of my list.

What do you guys think?

Many thanks in advance.

Best,

Thiago

for a streamer you could add a Chromecast Audio and use the optical, out into the onkyo then use a pc/tablet/phone to control it and stream from spotify/deezer/nas. Cheap but effective. Runs over local wifi.

Thank you Ugg10, but wouldn't that be the same as streaming directly from my Onkyo? It does stream well and effectively, but I was hoping that Cambridge CXN would boost quality. Am I wrong? Thanks

Doh, sorry, didn't read spec of onkyo, it has chromecast already built in.