Audio from VGA to HDMI cable on a Sky box?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by blackfalc0n, Aug 6, 2013.

  1. blackfalc0n

    blackfalc0n
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Just got a new Sky+ HD box and now we've got nothing to do with the old box - a Panasonic TU-DSB30. It's got a VGA connection so I was thinking about getting a VGA to HDMI cable for it so it upscales to HD on the small TV upstairs. Going to put Sky Freesat on it and don't want to buy a HD box that'd be too expensive, so a cheap upscaling alternative like that is better. :)

    Anyway, will a VGA to HDMI cable like the one below I'm thinking of buying for the box transmit audio or only video? I'm not sure if VGA transmits audio thats why. Also do you guys think this is a good method of upscaling the SD box to HD? I would use normal Scart on the TV but the quality is just appalling. :p

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/HDMI-Male-S...F8&qid=1375814190&sr=1-2&keywords=vga+to+hdmi

    OH and although this cable is HDMI to VGA, will it still work the other way? (VGA to HDMI?)

    Thanks. :D
     
  2. Philip4242

    Philip4242
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +167
    Sorry, but it HASN'T got a VGA connection !

    What you've seen on the back of the box is an RS232C (serial) connector, which is the same physical size as a VGA connector, but has only 9 pins, rather than the 15 pins on a VGA (video) connector.

    The RS232C connector is used for servicing, and CANNOT be used for any other purpose.
     
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,534
    Notwithstanding Philip4242's excellent and correct answer you cannot use a cable like that in any direction.
    VGA is analogue and HDMI is digital...you would need a black box convertor.
     
  4. HD sceptic

    HD sceptic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +81
    I don't remember VGA ports supporting audio either, you usually need a separate cable for that
     
  5. blackfalc0n

    blackfalc0n
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    OH, my bad. :rotfl: Guess that answers my question. :facepalm:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice