1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audio from a PW7

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by simon33, Jul 8, 2005.

  1. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As some of you may know, I'm considering buying the Panasonic pw7.

    One question though, does it have audio out in any form?


    Thanks! :)
     
  2. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    In a sense, but you need a dedicated amp for a reasonable experience
     
  3. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    it has its own amp built in for the speakers...but vileda is right go the seperate amp route
     
  4. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll most definetly be going for the amp in the future, but for a month or two until I can get the cash together for a decent one I'll go down the route of some cheap speakers.

    Can anyone let me know how I'd connect them?


    Thanks.
     
  5. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    just spring clip connections
     
  6. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks mep.

    Am I correct in thinking that you'd connect the amp to these spring clip connections?
     
  7. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    no just speakers....when you get the amp you just conect your equipment directly to it and the speakers hang off the amp
     
  8. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    The sound goes from your source to the terminal board via phono leads in the case of the component etc, the scart lead carries the sound as well in the case of the scart board.

    the pictures of the terminal boards here at AV-Sales may make this a bit more understandable
     
  9. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    yep
     
  10. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks mep and vileda, you've both been really helpful. This is all a little harder than I expected!

    With regards to the terminal boards, which ones do most people choose to purchase?
     
  11. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    It depends what you want to do....

    Thats the benefit of a display over a TV, you can set things up the way you want it, the flip side is that you need to work out what you want to do first.

    It is really daunting at first and we all make mistakes but that is what the forum is about, learning from one another.

    If you list what you want to connect and perhaps a rough budget for things you want I'm sure you will get help. . . you are asking about a panny afterall :D :D :D
     
  12. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    yes.....we have a little experience :)
     
  13. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was originally going to go for the LG as it seemed a quick and simple option, but after seeing the picture from a Panny I decided it was worth putting in the extra work to get a decent setup.

    I'm completely daunted after looking at the terminal boards, it seems the names of connections certainly aren't my strong point. In all, I wish to connect a VCR and a freeview box. I also need to connect a DVD player and 2 consoles (an xbox and a ps2).


    The help so far really is much appreciated. Thanks. :)
     
  14. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    realistically you should ditch the vcr and get a dvdr..you'll never get anything great from vcr......and as you want to make the effort i would suggest the js rgb to vga converter for your freeview...a component board for your dvd/r....and i would go for a scart splitter and plug freeview and teh consoles into that...then connect the scart splitter to the js rgb to vga and that to the screen
     
  15. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    What Mep Said is good........................

    I'd already written the below



    Ok,

    I don't believe that a VCR will be up to much picture wise.

    What connections do you have on the Freeview & DVD player??

    Someone else (Mep??) will definately have answers for the consoles
     
  16. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    So for this you would need the following;

    TH42pwd7> £1300ish
    Component board £50 (if bought with the screen at AV Sales)
    dvdr> £140
    JS rgb-vga> £127
    Scart Splitter> £80 (i'm guessing about this one)

    So that's about £1700 before cables where you can spend as much as you like
     
  17. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks mep and vileda.


    As the budget just about stretches to the plasma, I'll be getting the DVD recorder in perhaps 6 months time. I'm willing to put up with the bad quality picture from the VCR for now. :)

    The DVD player will be ordered at the same time as the plasma, so connection wise I guess I'm fairly flexible. The freeview box is the Sony one everybody seems to have, it connects to scart.


    Thanks again for your help so far, you're definetly making this an awful lot easier...!
     
  18. bellyfluffer

    bellyfluffer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry to jump on someone elses thread, but thinking of the pw7 myself and needed to ask a "nebie" question....
    what if any is the differance between a pw7 and a pwd7?
     
  19. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's been a while since I heard that question.

    try a search on pw7 difference pwd7

    here's 3 for starters

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=188295&highlight=pwd7+difference

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=187169&highlight=pwd7+difference

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=186555&highlight=pwd7+difference

    Be prepared for a couple of hours reading :)
     
  20. bellyfluffer

    bellyfluffer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for that looking now!
    just started a new thread in last min, would appreciate your advice on that too
    thanks again!
     
  21. bellyfluffer

    bellyfluffer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    read it and realise how daft a question it was with so many threads already
    thanks for the patience!
     
  22. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'll leave the answer to that one to someone who has 1st hand experience of the various screens
     
  23. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anybody tell me what connections the PWD7 has 'out of the box'? Does it have VGA?
     
  24. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    It has VGA built in.

    I'd recommend getting the dual slot Component/Svideo/Composite board as well as it gives options for further expansion.
    (you could even connect your vhs via scart-composite for the short term just to prove that the picture is big but not good!!!)

    are you thinking of wall mounting or going for a desk mount?


    Before I go on, I must admit that I'm biased as I got such good customer service (was $h1t scared at spending £2k on a monitor!!!) with AV-Sales.com so even though I recommend them there are other slightly cheaper options. I'd still pay the extra 5% and go for av-sales though.
     
  25. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks vileda, you've been so helpful.

    I'm thinking of going for the wallmount. :)
     
  26. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    How do you connect your PS2 & Xbox at the minute?
     
  27. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using the yellow, red and white leads. I'm sure that's got a name!

    However, from what I've heard scart is far better...
     
  28. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    with those it's only the yellow that carries video, the other two the left and right sound channels. The yellow cable carries a composite signal.

    There are a few different ways to connect up the xbox & ps2, in the meantime I'm sure you could connect via Composite or (better) Svideo, as long as you don't mind swapping a cable between consoles. There are other threads about how to connect consoles via hd etc, which you can look at when you get your amp.

    That would leave the freeview to be connected via a JS RGB>VGA converter and a cheap dvd to be connected via component.
     
  29. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm sure this has changed but generally the order of quality is

    Lowest
    Composite
    svideo
    RGB
    Component
    Highest

    It gets much more confusing than this but I think it is a good start.
     
  30. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm going to cheekily use this post to get my connections up to scratch...

    Composite is the yellow cable, normally included with the red and white for audio. S-Video is the round connector with a couple of holes in, often used for pc to tv.

    Could you please fill me in on the RGB and component leads? A quick Google throws up mixed results. :rolleyes:

    Also, where abouts would scart come on that list - or have I missed it due to all these cryptic names!


    Thanks so much again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...