Audio dongle for Xbox360 - Availability??

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by brianmcdermott2, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. brianmcdermott2

    brianmcdermott2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +4
    Anyone know where to pick one of these up?

    I've already got HDMI cables, so just want the audio dongle to get 5,1 sound to be amp.

    cheers
     
  2. EEC3

    EEC3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    4,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Open Street, Construct
    Ratings:
    +927
    You can make your own from either the component or VGA cables.

    Just snap off the plastic casing (get a knife into the groove) and then it will fit in alongside the HDMI. You just need to connect up the optical from that.. I went one step further and cut the actual cable as I had a spare VGA so it's a bit neater.

    I think officially they come in a pack with an HDMI cable and its 35 notes.
     
  3. brianmcdermott2

    brianmcdermott2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +4
    thanks, would prefer to keep the component cable intact, in case I want to use on a tv with no HDMI connection.

    can you make the same thing out of a VGA cable - is that what you mean?

    if so, can you give me a link to an example to what you mean.

    cheers
     
  4. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    I haven't actually tested this out yet but like you I didn't want to butcher my HD AV Cable or pay £35 for the HDMI Cable/Dongle Kit so I purchased a cheapo VGA Cable from Play for £5.99 - http://www.play.com/Games/Xbox360/4-/3433033/Gamexpert-Xbox-360-VGA-AV-Cable/Product.html

    [​IMG]

    It's been delivered and I get a warm feeling; the connector is slimmer than the HD AV Cable one and tapered so maybe, just maybe, it can go in without removing the casing.

    @Chuck - did you literally just cut off the surplus cable and leave the connector with the optical cable connection in?
     
  5. brianmcdermott2

    brianmcdermott2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +4
    can you let me know if this co mpoennt cable fits in aswell as the HDMI cable?

    If so, then you get the 5.1 sound from component optical out &Y picture via HDMI, yeah (the plugged in component cable not being sent anywhere casues no problem?)?

    cheers!!
     
  6. EEC3

    EEC3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    4,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Open Street, Construct
    Ratings:
    +927
    Yes I literally cut the entire cable off

    As long as you don't plug the video part of the VGA/Component cable into anything then it will send the sound via optical and the HDMI will send the picture. Well the HDMI will also send audio to the TV (but you can just turn it down)
     
  7. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    That's the point, if you don't use the official audio dongle you have to use a self-modified HD AV cable (be that component or VGA) as both HDMI & HD AV Cable won't fit at the same time due to lack of space.

    And yes, you'll get 5.1 sound via the optical out on your modified HD AV Cable and picture (plus non-5.1 sound) via the HDMI Cable.
     
  8. brianmcdermott2

    brianmcdermott2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +4
    Kismet - I'm a bit thick ;)

    So, in the end, did you have to remove casing on the Gamexpert cable?

    If you did, how neat a job is it at the back (from your comment you just cut the cable so effectively all you have left is the connection at back of xbox with the optical port, with half/some of the casing missing - did you wrap this in insulating tape then to finish it off?
     
  9. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    Not done it yet mate, probably won't get a chance to until the weekend but yes, the intention is to cut off all the cabling and just slot the connector in then connect the optical.

    If it's too big then I'll be prising off the casing but this is assuming the casing comes off as easily as the official HD AV Cable; it mght be moulded in which case I'll be sending it back to Play for a refund and try something else :rolleyes:
     
  10. brianmcdermott2

    brianmcdermott2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +4
    can you let me know how you get on over weekend.

    Play don't ship anything besides CD's or DVD's to Ireland, so can't get one from them. Can get similar for ~£10 on other sites, but obviously, don't want to do this if it doesn't work, as won't get money back...

    thanks.
     
  11. ShadowTD

    ShadowTD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    I'm amazed that none of the 3rd party suppliers have stepped in to take care of this yet. I'm running HDMI with a doctored official cable and I hate it. If I could get an audio dongle for ~£10 I'd be very happy.
     
  12. brianmcdermott2

    brianmcdermott2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +4
    might be a Microsoft licensing thing that stops companies from making this part???
     
  13. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    Will let you know how I get on, totally stupid how you get the HDMI cable/Dongle for 'free' if you buy an Elite but have to stump up £35 for it if you don't :mad:

    I missed out on a couple going for £15ish on these forums, not seen on here since :(
     
  14. brianmcdermott2

    brianmcdermott2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +4
    there are some on Ebay at the mo - £25 + £3 postage (£8 postage to Dublin???)

    Bit of a rip off
     
  15. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
  16. Otaku Punk

    Otaku Punk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +19
  17. Scruffie

    Scruffie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +8
  18. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    Not tried it but got a panning on the user reviews on Play.com so best to stick to the official one for video.
     
  19. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Or just simply spend 10 seconds removing the casing. :smashin:
     
  20. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    :confused: I think the poster was asking about video quality of the cheapo VGA compared to the official one :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...