1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audio Delay - How do I...?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by azzo, May 13, 2003.

  1. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    I am thinking of buying an Iscan Pro which adds a 4 field delay to
    the picture. (I do not know how much this is in milliseconds)
    My amp (Sony STRR-DB840) does not have an audio delay,
    it does however, allow me to place my speakers at a distance of 1M instead of the 3 they actually are. Can somebody please tell me what delay I have actually created (if any) and whether there
    is a better method for doing this. - May be a 10M audio interconnect or is there an external box I can buy?

    Many Thanx
    Azzo
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +8,936
    the amp or dvd player needs to have an audio delay feature
     
  3. MikeK

    MikeK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    A 4 field delay is approx 80milliseconds for PAL.

    All the distance settings will do on your current amp is create a small delay between the fronts and the centre/rears to compensate for positional differences (if I recall, the max is about 20-30ms anyway) - what you need, as mjn said, is an amp which can delay the entire audio stream by around 80ms.

    An interconnect about 10000miles in length will provide the correct amount of delay :) :) :)
     
  4. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    MJN, can you recall if your sony 725 has an audio delay?
    Probalbly Not.
    Where can I get a 10000 mile cable from?
    I guess I will be shopping for a new amp then?
    Azzo.
     
  6. themmings

    themmings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +4
    Only amp that I'm aware of within reasonable budget that has audio delay is the Denon 3803.

    Tim
     
  7. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +14
    It works great ... does exactly what it says on the tin :D

    But an expensive fix to the problem.
     
  8. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    how much is it and where can you get it from?
     
  9. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    It says that it converts AC3 and DTS to two outputs! This
    cannot be very good, I mean what happens to the multi-channel audio.
    Also how are you support to connect an optical or digital
    connection to it. It looks like it has an RS322 serial port.
     
  10. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +14
    They're almost a grand & if you are interested after that I'll tell you where you can get one :smoke:

    It will take 3 optical intputs , 3 coax inputs , 1 analog pair in

    It will then ouput these thru 1 optical out & 1 coax out.

    0 to about 340ms delay in 20ms increments

    It doesn't decode the DTS & DD streams it just passes thru the digital stream adding in the delay (& anti jitter), your amp will then decode the stream.

    (In the case of the analog in it is then output to the optical & coax outs as LPCM stream)

    Mine currently has coax from DVD player into coax 1 , optical from Sky to optical 1, analog pair from SVHS to analog pair in & then a coax from coax out to the amp.
     
  11. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +474
    Not that it helps for people with integrated amps ... but has anyone tried adding an delay between processor and poweramps. I'd vaigly thought about using something like the Behringer Shark which is multi-fucntions including a digital delay (plus 12 bands of feedback destroyer / parametric EQ).

    If I was to do this ... would I need to worry about rear channels, or would just delaying the front 3 be sufficient? The Shark is about £60 per channel I think - so £180 as opposed to £480 is big difference.

    Vikki
     
  12. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    A grand, thats a lot of dosh for something you can get on a cheaper amp. My appolgies for the ignorance of its inputs. I didn't realise it had a picture down the page with the optical and digital inputs.

    Azzo
     
  13. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    definitely not worth a grand. What we need is someone like John Sim to make a similar product, doing coax in to coax out with a delay. People with systems where video delay is present tend to use coax audio connections.
     
  14. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Yea, i'd buy a box if John Simm could make one for under £100 with both optical and coaxial connections.
     

Share This Page

Loading...