Audio Cables for Built in Speakers

markjanzen

Novice Member
Reaction score
I recently moved to a new place and I'm trying to set up the home theatre but as a noob I have some questions. There are built in speakers in the ceiling but I'm a bit perplexed by the cables. Three of them have a black, white, red and green wire. One of them only has a black and white wire. There is also the subwoofer cable. What kind of A/V unit do I need to make this work and do I need to by front facing speakers or will the built in ceiling speakers do the job?
PXL_20221103_001119720.jpg
PXL_20221103_001239765.jpg

I don't know about the wiring, but those ceiling speakers could be used for dolby atmos, if they're four speakers in line you wouldn't use all four, probably just the outer two.

You'd need a AVR capable of Atmos, with amplifier channels built in for atmos/heights.

You will need a least stereo speakers, but you also have center, surrounds, sides. For atmos you can have one pair, two pairs, or three pairs, depending on your AVR/AV Pre.

That is a bit of an odd arrangement tbh.
If you cant make out which cable goes where a simple trick is to use a "AA" battery on each pair of the four wires in turn to see which speaker makes a click when touching the wires on the speaker.
Bit odd that there only 3 of the cables have 4 wires and 1 has only a pair.

It's possible that 2 pairs of wires in one cable were used to lower the resistance of the cable runs by using for example - black/white for + and green/red for - .
For instance they may have started with one cable black/white, then thought afterwards to use 2 pairs for one speaker. To be sure I would pull out the speakers from the ceiling to figure out what's actually going on and how they are wired up. I notice some black marker on some of the cables which might also give a clue.
You would also need a center speaker and left and right front pair, you could configure the ceiling speakers as surrounds.