1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audigy z2s. digital output to digital input on processor? 5.1 sound in games?

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Maninblack, Dec 28, 2004.

  1. Maninblack

    Maninblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    Audigy z2s. digital output to digital input on processor? 5.1 sound in games?

    Will this soundcard give digital surround sound in games(5.1 or higher) to a digial coaxial input on a parasound c2,

    or will I have to use the analogue outputs on the soundcard and analogue inputs on the c2??
     
  2. stlic

    stlic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    733
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    No on the fly DD encoding so analogue only I'm afraid.
     
  3. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +186
    True - analogue only.
     
  4. Maninblack

    Maninblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    MM. I going to have to sort out the correct cabling then for 5.1 0r 7.1 sound. Distance is 7 metres.
     
  5. Yaka

    Yaka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,675
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    DD only in films. Nforce 2 soundstorm is the only chip that does on the fly 5.1 sound in games
     
  6. Maninblack

    Maninblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    With the three analogue outputs from the soundcard. How can I correctly connect them to the analogue inputs on my C2?
     
  7. Maninblack

    Maninblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    OK.

    Happy new year!
    Ok I have a digital RCA cable.
    Plugged into a mono to RCa converter at sound card end plugged into spdif.

    Then into Digital 3 on parasound.

    Parasound OSD reports this as PCM.

    Using test tones on sound card I only get stereo output using any selection of outputs, 5.1, 6.1, 7.1 etc. I only hear front left and front right.

    Switching source on parasound only shows mono or stereo.

    WHat am I missing to get the other test tones, centre rear sub etc??

    Help!! Perhaps I needed to select 'direct' mode but mrs hogging TV now!
     

Share This Page

Loading...