1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AUDIGY sync problem

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by (GTV)Chris, Aug 21, 2003.

  1. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    HCPC

    Radeon VE graphics
    Audigy player
    Theatertek DVD player

    Pioneer 106s


    I was watching a movie and skipped a few scenes ahead then all hell broke loose.

    It all went about 5 seconds out of sync.

    I have it set to gigital out and have TT set to Spdif and selected the output device as the audigy.

    Running Win2k.

    Why is this happening, I am getting fed up with HCPC's now :(
    Is it worth me getting a pure digital card? If so which one....I aint got a lot of money.

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  2. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Has noone experienced this problem????

    What digital audio card are you all using?

    C
     
  3. SeaneyC

    SeaneyC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +54
    Have you tried selecting directsound audio device or waveout audio device?
     
  4. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    yes i have it set to direct sound.

    It seems to have settled a bit but I still feel that it looks a frame or two early, which is worse than a frame or two late :(

    I may consider changing it for a pure digital card....If I have the money.

    Ta

    C
     
  5. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    The card shouldn't matter. if it works it works but it sounds like you have some other system process thats hogging resources and throwing everything out of sync. Theatretek likes things smooth and doesn't seem to be very robust when they're not.
     
  6. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thought as much.
    Is there a way of deleting all things not needed from the system to make it run smoother and boot up quicker??
    At the mo my Win2000 takes a while to boot up.

    All I need is TT, descaler, wintv and that's about it.

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  7. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Personally I'd start with a format and clean install but if that beyond you then aggogle search for "remove services" will turn up loads of guides, mostly xp orientated but mostly applies to w2k as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...