• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Audica AVR-1 DVD Player

jaks2006

Banned
I'm new to this 'forum' business and, as a matter of fact, the whole Home Cinema thing but I think I must be missing something...

I recently went looking for a complete Home Cinema solution; DVD player, AV amp, speakers and screen.

The screen was easy, my friends have a Pioneer PHP435-XDE which is great so I got one of those. Speakers were easy because I'd already seen the reviews of the Audica speakers and simply love the look of them. After a dem' against Kef and Tannoy there was clearly no competition, even with music.

Then the dealer showed me the options for my DVD and Amp. To cut a long story short my choice was; Two large faceless japanese looking boxes or the Audica AVR-1. Guess which I took home...

It's a one-box solution and looks great, upscales to 1080i and has all the connections I need. Ok, it doesn't have the gazilions of inputs and outputs the big Denon/Sony style kit has but, for me, it's perfect.

Having made the decision I decided to look for other one-box solutions; There aren't any, with the exception of the NAD and a few other obscure ones.

Am I missing something or is this just a great product I've discovered?

http://www.audica.co.uk/en/a_AVR-1.php?front

:thumbsup:

eastman3000

Established Member
Hi -

Just to reserect this post!

Crusty is the audica Avr 1 good for 600? I mean how much will I miss? Im used to a big denon av am and kef speakers!

Crustyloafer

Distinguished Member
It is not going to compete with a full sized AV amp. It is not particularly powerful but is capable of drive small sub/sat packages with relative ease.

If you want AV separates performance in a single box then the Arcam Solo Movei should be on your shortlist, it is however £2000.