Audible speaker hiss/humm

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by newrose, Sep 26, 2004.

1. newrose

newrose

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    well, i'm new to all this (my first post) so i hope someone will be kind enough to help.

I've just bought & set up a JVC TH-S3 home cinema system. My problem is when the unit is switched on there is an audible hiss/humm from all 5 speakers. I've placed the speakers as per manual with only the centre on top of the TV. Any ideas what's wrong. I have a jvc tv & video btw

2. recruit

recruit

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Newrose,

Is this with the volume turned down? or is it noticeable all the time?
    It could possibly be a mains problem but i am no expert :rolleyes:

John :)

3. newrose

newrose

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Recruit

It’s all the time. As soon as the unit is switched on. You do have to get very close to the speakers to hear it. I've had a listen to the same model at the local Electrical store & it does the same??
    I'm pretty sure it’s not a mains problem as I had my Hi-Fi separates system plugged into the same socket as the new DVD & I had no trouble with it.
    Perhaps this is a characteristic with this model :confused: It don't sound right to me though.

4. recruit

recruit

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi newrose,

It does seem odd though, in that it is so noticeable, if i were you and you are clearly not happy with it take it back to where you bought it and try something else, or it will drive you mad :mad:

BTW: some speakers do make a slight hissing noise but not so much that it starts to annoy you

John :)

5. newrose

newrose

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi john