Audi a3 radio replacement suggestions?

Discussion in 'ICE, Sat Navs & Dash Cams Forum' started by Dan201, Aug 6, 2013.

  1. Dan201

    Dan201
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +608
    My fiance has a 2007 A3 which has the factory radio/cd player installed.

    She'd like to be able to play music off of her iPhone.

    I have an A4 which has an aux input in the arm rest which does the job nicely. Is there a radio I can swap her's for that will provide the same or better?

    By better I guess I mean bluetooth streaming.

    We'd like to keep the car looking as close to factory as we can so we're not looking to buy amps/change speakers etc. Hopefully just a simple swap.

    She uses one of those little radio emitters sometimes and tunes her radio into that but the sound quality is pretty crap.

    Thanks guys.
     
  2. martUK

    martUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    655
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +66
    What model is the radio? You may be able to program and activate (with diagnostic equipment) an aux input on the radio you've got
     
  3. Dan201

    Dan201
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +608
    Ill have to check and get back to you on that. Will it be written on the unit itself? Its the original one, whatever that is.

    Without the actual 3.5mm input socket how can it be unlocked?
     
  4. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +8,750
    My good lady also has a 2007 A3 with the Concert II music system. No Aux input, or USB in the glove box, so I purchased an adaptor that fitted into the OEM radio. It allowed connection of an iPod so you could see tracks and artists etc on the radio display. I thought its operation was pretty poor so I took it out.

    I fitted a single DIN Alpine head unit with appropriate adaptors and cables etc. I've got a problem with that now, the blummin rear speakers aren't working. And can I hell work out why :rolleyes:
     
  5. Dan201

    Dan201
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +608
    Thats a pain! please let me know how you get on with it.
     
  6. martUK

    martUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    655
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +66
    You didn't use the appropriate adaptor, you have amplified rear speakers which requires a different and more expensive interface.
     
  7. martUK

    martUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    655
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +66
    With cars and especially VW/Audi the cars are programmed to the spec ordered by the original customer. Obviously some things require hardware. The radio can be programmed to tell it there is an aux input connected, its then just a matter of putting the wires into the back of the radio and on the other end having whatever connector you want. Parts would cost you less than £5, but programming unless you know someone with vagcom diagnostics that would cost you a bit.
     
  8. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +8,750
    I thought as much. At least I've got something to go on now and have to purchase the appropriate adaptor.
    It just sounds so wrong with no real 'body' to the sound.
    Cheers
     
  9. Yonner

    Yonner
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +1,061
    I had a after market radio fitted and I had to buy a Bose converter , I had same problem , Bose converter fixed this :) I think I may have another one in my garage :)
     
  10. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +8,750
    I don't actually know if its a Bose system or not.
     
  11. Yonner

    Yonner
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +1,061
    It should say it on speaker covers in front of car mate
     
  12. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +8,750
    There's nothing on them at all. Nothing on the covers, so took one of the covers off and nothing.
     
  13. martUK

    martUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    655
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +66
    Doesn't matter if its Bose or not, same adapter.
     
  14. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +8,750
  15. Dan201

    Dan201
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +608
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1376635190.190601.jpg

    I've attached a picture of the radio that is currently fitted. Is this the one you guys had to begin with and then changed?
     
  16. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +8,750
    Yep, that's the one that I changed.
     
  17. Dan201

    Dan201
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +608
    Would you recommend the alpine head unit you got? We're not looking for anything fancy.

    And do you know which adapter you need now?
     
  18. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +8,750
    This is the one I fitted into my wife's Audi:

    Alpine - Digital Media Receiver - iDA-X313

    I chose it for her, but now it's in, personally I don't like it but she's ok with it. I don't like the way it navigates, but that could just be me :D

    I've just fitted this one in my car:

    Alpine - CD Headunits - CDE-175R

    I prefer this one much more as it seems easier to navigate. Plus I prefer the LCD display as appose to the other one being dot matrix. This is a none Bluetooth version, but you can get that if you wanted. For £130 I think it's great. It also reads my iPod pretty quickly as well.

    For the other adaptor I need, I just need to confirm it with the dealer I normally get my car audio stuff from.
    I'll post back with the one I need.

    ;)
     
  19. Dan201

    Dan201
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +608
    Thanks for the help👍
     
  20. Dan201

    Dan201
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +608
    Hi Dodge, did you find out the correct adapter for your wife's A3?
     
  21. BeaverFalls

    BeaverFalls
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

    I bought an A3 a few weeks ago and it's got the same head unit as Dan201. As it's double din I wouldn't mind replacing it with something like this -

    Pioneer SPH SA02 App Mode Double Din Screen with Bluetooth

    Would it be quite an easy install to do myself?

    Will the can-bus steering adapter mean I still get the information on the little display just behind the steering wheel? I currently get radio information/phone contacts on there at the moment.

    Ps....What's your opinions on that head unit? I wanted something fairly gadgety but not overly flashy, that seems to have a nice trim so won't look completely out of place and chavvy.
     
  22. Yonner

    Yonner
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +1,061
    Do you have Bose speakers ?
     
  23. BeaverFalls

    BeaverFalls
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do not, no. Not as far as i'm aware anyway.
     
  24. wilco1uk

    wilco1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +49
    The Can-bus adaptor will allow limited use of the steering wheel controls but won't (unless things have changed in the last year or so) allow the use of the dashboard display. Audi's are a strange beast when it comes to ICE, and if you have a BOSE system you can't really replace any individual components (its all 2 ohm), its a complete strip out.
    I'd suggest that anyone who is contemplating any ICE in an audi (since 2000 ish) heads over to the forums at audisport.net, where there is a lot of knowledge and previous posts that will probably cover every question.
     
  25. uksparx

    uksparx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bromley
    Ratings:
    +75
    I'd get a RNSE these have 2 x sd cards slot I picked up one from ebay for £450 for the mark2 which is a lot faster than the old unit which also has sat nav built in.

    You will need a vag com cable to code the car , I also got one of these from ebay which was £50.
     
  26. Yonner

    Yonner
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +1,061
    I have a vagcom cable pm me if interested
     
  27. BathBun

    BathBun
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have stumbled across this thread in complete frustration... can someone please help me?! I bought this ES7683EN 7" Car DVD Player GPS WiFi 3G VMCD DVR-IN DTV-IN iPhone4/5 AUDI A3 S3 | eBay to replace the stereo in my 2006 Audi A3. I had an garage fit it (electrical specialist one) and the rear speakers just won't work. The garage is stumped and seem to think the pins in the connector box aren't connecting to the amp for the rear speakers. The supplier is being extremely unhelpful (even though they are trying). Can anyone suggest what to do? The original stereo wasn't Bose (my garage chap doesn't know where the amplifier is situated in the car - he's already had the boot lining out looking for it). As you can tell I'm having a bit of a nightmare - I just want to listen to tunes loud and just having front speakers doesn't quite cut it! Thank you.
     
  28. BLH28

    BLH28
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dorking, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +10
    RNS-E OEM
     
  29. TheDubMan

    TheDubMan
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice