Answered Atmos help on 4K UHD disc

Discussion in '4K Ultra HD Blu-rays' started by jimmymleeds, Aug 26, 2018.

  1. jimmymleeds

    jimmymleeds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hey guys,

    After completing my home cinema install in my garage conversion I tried out Suicide Sqaud on a 4K UHD disc mainly because it has Atmos encoding Im not a fan of DC films. GO Marvel

    Anyhoo, the film sounded fantastic and I was very pleased with the results of my efforts over the past few months but upon pressing the info button on my Panasonic DMP UB400 it told me that it was outputting Dolby TrueHD.. there was me expecting Atmos. I checked my AVR (Marantz sr6012) and it showed input signal TrueHD/atmos output Atmos.

    Shouldn't it the input signal just be Atmos from the Player, I've checked over the audio settings and everything is set to bitstream which, apart from PCM is the only other choice, no pass through.

    Can anyone help clear this up for me?

    Many thanks in advance,

    James
     
  2. Best Answer:
    Post #3 by Lesmor, Aug 26, 2018 (1 points)
  3. brian s

    brian s
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    56,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Alice in Sunderland,Tyne&wear
    Ratings:
    +15,732
    I think it has both a 7.1 and an Atmos track. Maybe you just need to select the Atmos option on your player.

    Bri
     
  4. Lesmor

    Lesmor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,714
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Ratings:
    +3,498
    Best Answer
    No player will show Dolby Atmos on its front display as it is not a decoder
    It is there to read the disc and pass bitstream to a AVR or processor
    the AVR does the decoding and depending on the codec the AVR / processor shows Dolby Atmos,DTS:X or Auro 3D
    Hope this helps
    Andy
     
  5. jimmymleeds

    jimmymleeds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi Bri,
    Thank you for your reply.
    After going thru the settings in my BD player there is nothing that lets me specifically set the output to Atmos as I am guessing it is with most players in this price range only settings we have available are the bitstream/PCM options. Nothing I have tried shows up as a true 'atmos signal' like I get when i switch my Xbox 1 S on it says Input Signal atmos, output signal Atmos.
     
  6. jimmymleeds

    jimmymleeds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +10
    Andy thanks for clearing this up I really appreciate your reply, I take it that although the input signal reads as TrueHD and the output signal reads as Atmos on my AVR info screen that I am indeed hearing Atmos. I just thought that the input signal from my BR Player would show as Atmos and output as Atmos just as it does my Xbox 1 S if you catch my drift.

    Many thanks for settling my question.

    James
     
  7. richardsim7

    richardsim7
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    3,182
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2,580
    Atmos = TrueHD 7.1 + Metadata
     
  8. jimmymleeds

    jimmymleeds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thankyou. Answered question. Much appreciated
     
  9. Lesmor

    Lesmor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,714
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Ratings:
    +3,498
    Hi James
    Yes let your AVR/Processor front display be your guide

    If the disc has been mastered in Dolby Atmos a DA capable AVR front display should automatically show Dolby Atmos but this is not always the case
    you might on occasion have to go into your AVR Audio settings on your remote and select it

    Also some discs dont automatically default to Dolby Atmos you have to go into the disc menu and select it

    You might also find this of interest
    How Do Dolby TrueHD and Dolby Atmos Differ?
     
  10. jimmymleeds

    jimmymleeds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thankyou for your reply and the link you provided Lesmor. Great stuff
     
  11. brian s

    brian s
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    56,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Alice in Sunderland,Tyne&wear
    Ratings:
    +15,732
    I'm new to 4k . I have the player and an Atmos amp but I'm only set up for 7.1 sound. I just know from my experience of blus and DVDs that discs don't always default to the best sound format available. It's best to check first. I'm pleased you have your answer though.

    Bri
     
  12. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    8,064
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,134
    So true. I've been surprised that some disc with Atmos dont default to it. Always worth checking.
     
  13. richardsim7

    richardsim7
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    3,182
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2,580
    The one that annoys me most is The Dark Knight Blu-Ray, defaults to DD 5.1 rather than TrueHD
     
  14. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +10,095
    The Matrix UHD is even better, it has Atmos but defaults to lossy DD 5.1
     
  15. richardsim7

    richardsim7
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    3,182
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2,580
    Good ol' compatibility tracks...
     

Share This Page

Loading...