Question Atmos 7.1.4 help please

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by devise94, Dec 25, 2016.

1. devise94

devise94

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +86
    Hi everyone,

So I've recently decide to take the plunge towards Atmos and purchase a Pioneer
    SCLX701. I'm quite new to these home theater setups so would like help in running a 4 atmos speaker setup with 7 channels (7.1.4). I know this box is cable of doing this providing some sort of external amplifier I read but I have no clue what that means and how to go about doing it.

I know how to setup the 5.1.4 using the amp itself but what I'm interested in is how to use a second 2 channel amp to power the rear atmos speakers.

Can anyone recommend a budget 2 channel external amp which will do the job for the rear atmos speakers just fine?

Also can anyone provide a tutorial as to how to go about setting up the second amp (settings for atmos on the second amp etc)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. Publicnme2273

Publicnme2273

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +323
    I bought a 2nd amp for my atmos set up , but used the second amp to power my main front speakers with an rca connection . rest of the speakers are run with my receivers amp . The seperate amp is better for pure audio stereo .

3. devise94

devise94

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +86
    Thanks for the reply. Could you let me know which amp you used to power the front R and L? Also, I don't have a clue how to setup the second amp in terms of wiring or volume control on second amp etc. Do you have any tips?

4. Publicnme2273

Publicnme2273

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +323
    I used the the Roksan K2 . I've got the Denon avr 5200 and set my front 2 channels through pre out connected with rca interconnects . The pure Audio with the Roksan is excellent . I control the front speakers with the denon speaker level settings .