1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ati DVI dongle screen refresh rates

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by cowtipper, Jul 9, 2004.

  1. cowtipper

    cowtipper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know what refresh rates the Ati DVI dongle supports (as i thought DVI on ly put out 60hhz i may be wrong) i am interested in building a htpc but as the vga connector on my panny plasma is on the front it is not much use so i though i buy an ati card and use on of these dongles.

    but i a worried about what refresh rate they utput and compatibility with my screen and b4 i shell out £800 on a HTPC i am trying to do my research

    does anyone run a HTPC driving a plasma and if so what is it like overall
     
  2. cowtipper

    cowtipper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry i missed out ATI DVI to Component dongle sorry :blush:
     
  3. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +118
    It does 480i/480p 720p/1080i and lots of ppl use powerstrip to then get the res/refresh they want.. its more down to what your screencan take rather than want it can produce (which is basically the same as a vga output to a monitor)

    I have tried mine on 60hz/30/56/100 etc etc (CRT TV though not plasma)

    Matt
     
  4. NinjaShredder

    NinjaShredder
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The output of your graphics card is a DVI-I port. This stands for Integrated. This means that both digital AND analog signals are available from a DVI-I port. Now, I don't know much about the digital part of DVI, but I assume that the analog part can output any refresh rate, just like the good old fashioned RGB 'VGA' port.
    Component connection is an analog format, and looking at the smallness of the DVI-I to component dongle, it won't be doing a digital to analog conversion. All it does is tell the graphics card to output YPrPb analog signals, rather than RGB.
    Perhaps I haven't answered your question, but I might have cleared up some confusion. Or just made more... :confused:
     
  5. cowtipper

    cowtipper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks guys you have both cleared things up for me
    1:\i have just got a copy of powerstrip and had a play and i see waht you mean you adjust the resolution
    2:\i thought dvi was locked at 60HZ thanks for the info about the port standards
     
  6. cowtipper

    cowtipper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think i am going to go ahead and give it ago and if it does nto work i can always ebay it i suppose
    here is the spec can anyone comment or add any info about what might be better?

    amd atlon 2800xp
    512mb 400ddr
    nec 25000 dvd-rw +\-
    ati 9600
    m-audio audiophile card (not sure about this soundcard anybody got any suggestions?)
    sweetspot and xcard (still not sure about the xcard or whether just to use a software decoder eg theatertek or powerdvd?)
    ati dvi-yuv dongle
    120gb hd
    silent cpu fan
     
  7. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,520
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,007
    can I ask where you got the dongle from?
     
  8. cowtipper

    cowtipper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +118
    you can also get free postage.. or I paid $6 for piority and it was here in 3 days ! excellent!
     

Share This Page

Loading...