Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

AT LAST I GOT MY NEW TEATRO 420HB CRT

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by MUD, Sep 7, 2001.

  1. MUD

    MUD
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI EVERYBODY<br /> I now know for myself what you guys and girls have been saying about CRT. Having had two lcd projectors before but was never happy with the picture fan noise pixels and dust and blacks. I for the first time am now more than happy with projector.THE PICTURE in progressive scan with my 737 is mind blowing. TO CHRIS or GORDON/ROLAND should I get aUPC CONVERTER fitted as this comes as a extra .I am viewing it on a 2mtr widescreen. THANKS MUD. <img src="biggrin.gif" border="0"> <img src="biggrin.gif" border="0"> <img src="biggrin.gif" border="0"> <img src="biggrin.gif" border="0">
     
  2. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    MUD

    I've not heard of a Teatro 420 HB I'm afaid.<br />Who makes it?

    As regards the internal upconverter. Often the projectors manaufactuers boards are not as performant as can be achived with extrenal scaller. but have the advantage of being uder the projectors software control.

    Glad that you have at last seen the light of CRT. Or rather you can now see the blacks.

    [ 07-09-2001: Message edited by: B4 ]</p>
     
  3. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,782
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    Mud, <br />Welcome to the ranks of CRT ownership.

    As Roland and Alan say, external line-doublers offer better performance for a similar cost to the Sim2 UPC card. The iScan Pro line-doubler would work well with your projector, and at around £750 it is very good value for the performance.

    You should also consider the Quadscan Elite scaler. Although you can’t use the higher scan rates available, this scaler does offer a very useful feature called Aspect Ratio Control.

    A.R.C. allows you to leave the projector set to Wide (16:9) mode which reduces the visibility of scan lines, then use the scaler to select between Letterbox, 4:3 and 16:9 modes. The benefit is that the image from non-anamorphic films (R1 Armageddon, True Lies, Titanic, Abyss etc) looks more like the higher quality anamorphic films in your collection.

    Another significant benefit, IMO, is that the Quadscan can remember several different lots of picture settings.

    You may have noticed that NTSC DVDs produce slightly grey blacks compared to PAL discs and that you need to turn down the brightness to correct for the difference. You might have also seen the difference in colour levels between VHS, Satellite and DVD. The multiple picture memories in the Quadscan Elite mean that you can store the perfect colour/contrast/brightness/hue settings for each different source signal.

    The original Quadscan Pro sold for 1800 GB£ retail. The new Quadscan Elite has been tweaked for use with CRT and has a lower price of around £1200 GB£.

    The SVP420 is a great projector; I ‘m sure that whatever scaler/doubler you choose to partner it with it will give you many hours of enjoyment.

    Regards
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,039
    Well I think I'll just jump on the bandwagon....

    Can I just add that althought the Quadscan has aspect ratio control it's not available for re-sizing a 4:3 image to fit inside a 16:9 screen at line doubling or VGA resolutions. You need to go higher. In fact I think you need to go to so high a resolution the 420 will not accept the signal.

    It will "anamorphise" letterbox discs though I think at Line Doubling and VGA settings.

    <br />Gordon.
     
  5. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,782
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    "it's not available for re-sizing a 4:3 image to fit inside a 16:9 screen at line doubling or VGA resolutions."

    Ah ha! You've fallen into my trap Mr. Bond. Now you to die in a contraption of my own design, watched only by this one inept guard. Goodbye, Mr. Bond!!!

    Now pay attention 007, I'm particularly proud of this...<br /> There is a trick to this. You combine the 16:9 mode from the Quadscan with the Small (4:3 inside 16:9) Aspect Ratio from the 420 projector. Problem is solved.

    Now, see the gear lever. The top flips open and there's a little red button underneath. Whatever you do, don't press it...

    Regards
     
  6. Alan Roser

    Alan Roser
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mud,

    Glad to hear that you like your SIM2 420HB. 'Teatro' is Italian for Theatre and all SIM2 (formerly Seleco)CRT projectors are a part of the Teatro range. Concerning the internal doubler, Roland is right - the internal unit fitted to the 400 back in '96 was in its day an OK line doubler especially when other products were around the £7k mark. But today it is showing its age, therefore we decided not to include an internal line doubler with the projector.

    My suggestion would be to add the Silicon Image iScan Pro which then gives you PAL progressive for you TV/SAT and region 2 DVD. It is generally accepted that the iScan offers excellent performance for the price (typical £750).

    As the 420 is only capable of PAL/NTSC Progressive and VGA there is little point in buying a scaler that your projector will not be compatible with.

    Regards

    <br />Alan Roser<br />Technical Director<br />Owl Video Systems Ltd
     
  7. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Chris,

    I have to say I have no idea what you are talking about!!

    But I have to side with Gordon on this one, I am sure that you have no control on aspect ratio when the Quadscan is set to VGA or Line Double TV.

    Any way, I'm off to play Glaxian on my Mame32 Arcade emulator.

    Live Long & Prosper!

    Alan<br />Owl Video (you remember them don't you?)
     
  8. MUD

    MUD
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI everybody.<br /> JUST to say thanks for your replys<br />where can I buy a iscan. I have just been to the cinima tonight. and now for the first time I think my picture is better. not bigger just better. Crt the new love of my life and a u/s WIFE. REGUARDS MUD. <img src="biggrin.gif" border="0"> <img src="biggrin.gif" border="0"> <img src="biggrin.gif" border="0">
     
  9. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,039
    What Chris is saying is that you are just using the Quadscan's ability to de-interlace to a higher standard than the usual internal doubler from Seleco. You are using a new convergence memory bank for doing the actual horizontal re-sizing.

    Chris, this will work. How are you doing on the alchemy front though, that's what I want to know!

    Gordon
     
  10. gwbailey

    gwbailey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mud, did you get my e-mail?
     
  11. gwbailey

    gwbailey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help! which PJ gives a better picture,

    (1) the SVD420HB, with the iscan-pro.

    (2) the SVD420HB, with the Quadscan-elite.

    (3) the SVD500 plus HD, with the built in UPC-2000 line doubler.

    Anyone?
     
  12. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,039
    There will be less artifacts with the first two. I'd say Quadscan would be best bet if you watch much letterbox stuff.

    Then get the lens changed to 500spec. It's a nice improvement too....

    Gordon
     
  13. Arthur.S

    Arthur.S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting thread. Fiendishly clever that Mr Frost! <img src="graemlins/evil.gif" border="0" alt="[Evil]" /> Has the price of external scalers dropped much recently? I seem to remember that the Iscan was around £1500?<br />One more thing, Mud, what's the fan noise on the 420 like? I'm curious, as the fan on my 310 is just acceptable. <img src="eek.gif" border="0">

    [ 18-09-2001: Message edited by: Arthur.S ]</p>
     
  14. gwbailey

    gwbailey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gordon, about how much does it cost to upgrade to the 500 lens?

    Can you help?
     
  15. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,039
    Arthur,

    Quadscans are around £1100-£1200 and Iscans £700-£750

    Graham: Don't know charge for glass HD lens upgrade. You could try s/h for alot less though I'd guess!

    Gordon
     
  16. gwbailey

    gwbailey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gordon, what's the differance between the 420 lens and the 500 lens?

    Why would it be better to upgrade, what would I gain?

    please help!
     
  17. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,782
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    The 420 lenses have acrylic (plastic) elements to keep costs down. They give good performance for the money.

    The 500 uses lenses that are all glass. Far better focus, sharper images particularly noticable with the blue tube. However, they cost a lot more.

    Upgrading a 420 from acrylic to glass lenses costs around £1500, plus a couple of hundred quid for reconverging once they've been fitted. But once fitted, your 420 becomes an SVD500 since they share a common chassis.

    Get your dealer to contact Owl for an exact cost on the lenses.

    Regards
     
  18. gwbailey

    gwbailey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Chris,
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice