1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Asus Pundit advice please

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by ginoworm, Aug 30, 2005.

  1. ginoworm

    ginoworm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    i have an asus pundit (not the -R version), can it play hi-def files without a problem, if so what proccesor should i upgrade to, currently got a 2ghz celery in it.

    also what type of DVI port is it?, will this dvi port be good for dvi to hdmi to be able to play on my soon to arrive hitachi 42pd6600.

    dont want the expense of a complete new htpc build for hd.
     
  2. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    Check on the Asus website, not sure what the max cpu speed it could handle but i'd put at least a P4 2.8 ghz in there and about 1Gb RAM..
     
  3. ginoworm

    ginoworm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    i dont mind doing that if through mce i will be able to play all the files i need, really edging towards a snazio but i love the mce interface.
     
  4. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    A 2.8GHZ will be fine, is it the 478 version you have?, if so try getting a Northwood based CPU as they run much cooler....
     
  5. ginoworm

    ginoworm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    so if i put in a 2.8 northwood and 1gb ram i will be able to run, wmv-hd etc with no problems?
    The pc will be used soley for mce so no other crap on it.

    Will the dvi out be a digital out?
     
  6. Big Adam

    Big Adam
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
    I can confirm that you can use a DVI-D cable with an Asus Pundit.

    I know because I've done it! :)
     
  7. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    Should be fine as long as you have no heating problems, I have a P4 2.8 and it wokrs fine with them onboard intel extreme graphics, 1080P plays with no problems, but I have Hyperthreading on and 800mhz FSB, dunno if the pundit supports that...
     
  8. ginoworm

    ginoworm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    the pundit i have is only a 533fsb version, no mention of it supporting hyper threading.
     
  9. Leo2005

    Leo2005
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Were you one of the lucky ones who got a Hitachi 42PD6600 in the Curry's Bank Holiday sale? I ordered one too, but they just cancelled it saying demand way outstripped supply. Curry's sucks!
     
  10. ginoworm

    ginoworm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    yea, ordered i store, lied about being in stock as i got a call the next day saying stock problems but will b in on the 3rd to be delivered about the 8th.

    I am going to call them on sunday and arrange to pick it up, got a couple of weeks of work as im doing up my house, i needed it to be in stock as i need to channel the walls out next week for the wires.

    Heres hoping
     

Share This Page

Loading...