1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aspect Ratio's

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Speed2003, Dec 5, 2004.

1. Speed2003

Speed2003

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

Right I'm rather new to all this so please bare with me. I've got a Toshiba 24Z33B Widescreen television and a Toshiba SD-330E DVD player. I've also got a Telewest Digital Box.

My DVD player has three TV Shape modes, 4:3 letterbox, 4:3 Normal and 16:9 Widescreen. It is of course set to 16:9 Widescreen. Now my TV has the following modes (as most widescreen TV’s) Auto, 4:3, Super Live, Wide, Cinema, Sub Title, 14:9.

While playing a DVD I switched through these modes and found that it actually caused the picture to be stretched, as you would expect, but I can't tell how it’s supposed to be. Basically I know what Auto and 4:3 settings are, but I'm not sure the differences between Super Live, Wide, Cinema, Sub Title and 14:9 are.

What I would like to know is what is the correct mode to display the DVD picture correctly on my Widescreen television. I gather that DVD's have different picture size ratios, 2.35:1, 2.40:1, 1.78:1 etc. Does this affect the mode the TV needs to be in to display the picture correctly without any stretching?

I also watch certain programmes on my TV that look like their edges have been chopped off no matter the mode that the TV is in. An example of this is Stargate SG-1 on Sky One, on the start up both the name of the programme and the actor’s names have their edges cut off. Is this because Sky One are broadcasting this incorrectly? A fault with Telewest? I'd be interested to here what both Sky Digital and Telewest Digital users have experienced with this particular problem, especially the viewing of that particular programme on that particular channel!

Thanks in advance

Mark

2. DJ Mike

DJ Mike

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings: