Question Artist making mini documentaries.

lizzbrady

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I am an artist from the UK and have received some funding to buy some equipment to create mini documentaries.

I do want them to have a DIY look but also be professional...

My question is, what camcorder should i look at? Is it important to mic the people up ? anything else i need to know?

Thanks in advance!

What is your budget range? It would help to give us an idea for the choice of equipment.

It may also help if you give an idea of your subject matter. Example:- Would it be a local setup or would you be travelling distances? Would you have support to help carry and set up equipment? Would you be indoors or outside?

Do you have a video club near you? You could get hands on help and, possibly, assistance with your filming.

What is your budget range? It would help to give us an idea for the choice of equipment.

It may also help if you give an idea of your subject matter. Example:- Would it be a local setup or would you be travelling distances? Would you have support to help carry and set up equipment? Would you be indoors or outside?

Do you have a video club near you? You could get hands on help and, possibly, assistance with your filming.

Thanks for your reply!

Budget is about £1000.

It will be local and travelling to other cities. Yes i will have one or two other people to help.

Indoors mainly, in artist studios / houses / cafes.

Not sure about a video club, will certainly research that. I am in Manchester.

Not sure about a video club, will certainly research that. I am in Manchester
Well you could try my old club - Altrincham Movie Makers. They have a web site and are based on Park Road, Timperley. See if they "fit the bill"!
When I moved to North Wales, I lost any contact with a video club and I do miss the meetings.

£1000 is not a lot for a pro set-up. Have you any kit yourself? For a start from scratch:-