ARTICLE: Which HDMI cable should I use for 4K HDR?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Steve Withers, Jan 1, 2018.


    1. Steve Withers

      Steve Withers
      Reviewer

      Joined:
      Oct 18, 2009
      Messages:
      9,529
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      AVForums
      Ratings:
      +8,902
    2. GhostRider17

      GhostRider17
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jul 7, 2008
      Messages:
      1,493
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Location:
      Grantham/Peterborough
      Ratings:
      +384
      Excellent thread,a great read and explains things well for people unsure.
       
    3. boabis

      boabis
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 14, 2015
      Messages:
      68
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      36
      Location:
      Edinburgh
      Ratings:
      +106
      Be sure to buy gold-plated cables, as the molecular structure of gold takes the form of a microscopic net, which stops stray 1s and 0s from escaping.
       
    4. jfinnie

      jfinnie
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 1, 2004
      Messages:
      3,911
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      133
      Location:
      Norwich
      Ratings:
      +1,483
      Has any certification scheme been announced for the new 48G cables? How long are copper cables expected to be able to operate to?
      Are there any "standards" yet for fibre cables?
       
    5. roydonaldson

      roydonaldson
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 15, 2003
      Messages:
      304
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      19
      Location:
      Glasgow
      Ratings:
      +3
      I think it would be worthwhile specifying HDMI cables with Ethernet in them just now. As the new eARC feature looks very useful for AV going forward and this uses the ethernet pins of a standard HDMI cable to provide the advanced eARC features:

      HDMI 2.1 eARC Technology - Lattice Semiconductor
       
    6. kitschcamp

      kitschcamp
      Member

      Joined:
      Sep 13, 2004
      Messages:
      245
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Location:
      Australia
      Ratings:
      +63
      Roy, you've just sort of answered a question I was going to ask - does anything in the consumer space actually use the Ethernet channels on HDMI? To date I've never seen anything that mentions using it in the spec or manual.
       
    7. Toon Army

      Toon Army
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jul 1, 2004
      Messages:
      933
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      96
      Location:
      Kinver, South Staffs
      Ratings:
      +563
      The Denon AVR-X4400H is eARC enabled.
       
    8. PC1975

      PC1975
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jan 21, 2012
      Messages:
      3,838
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      137
      Location:
      Glasgow
      Ratings:
      +1,434
      Thanks Steve, for a really useful article. I hear of so many people who are told by shop assistants that they need to upgrade their hdmi cables for their new tvs - and inevitably end up doing so. I wasn't sure myself and thought hdr or at least dynamic hdr would require new cables but that doesn't seem to be the case.
       
      Last edited: Jan 2, 2018
    9. raoulx

      raoulx
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Feb 4, 2011
      Messages:
      307
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Lancaster
      Ratings:
      +74
      Great article and always nice to learn something new :)
       
    10. jfinnie

      jfinnie
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 1, 2004
      Messages:
      3,911
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      133
      Location:
      Norwich
      Ratings:
      +1,483
      From:
      https://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdmi_2_1/

      2-3 meters? Fuggedaboudit. It looks like if you're buying copper cables over 2-3m in length at the moment you're going to be completely out of luck for HDMI2.1, so best not buy anything expensive as you're going to be throwing it away pretty soon.

      Hope they properly spec some active solutions soon...
       
    11. Keagan

      Keagan
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Dec 3, 2017
      Messages:
      11
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Belize
      Ratings:
      +1
      I'm confused, 10' of wire is too much to run from TV to any AV? What's the recommended length?
       
    12. Joe Fernand

      Joe Fernand
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jan 20, 2002
      Messages:
      26,909
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      The Borders
      Ratings:
      +3,126
      'I'm confused, 10' of wire is too much to run from TV to any AV? What's the recommended length?'

      Back on the 4th Jan 2017 when HDMI.org first announced HDMI 2.1 the press release mentioned 48G cables and in additional Press statements mentioned an expected max length of up to 3m!
      HDMI :: Press Release

      Once HDMI 2.1 was formalised on 28th Nov 2017 the 48G cable naming had been dropped in favour of 'Ultra High Speed" and no indication of the expected cable length limitations for copper cables.
      HDMI :: Press Release

      Current generation High Speed and Premium High Speed Certified cables top out at 8m (26') - once the Certification process has been released cable manufacturers can start to release details on expected cable lengths for Copper, Active and Fibre solutions.

      Expect anything much longer than a few meters to be Active or Fibre based.

      Joe
       
    13. jfinnie

      jfinnie
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 1, 2004
      Messages:
      3,911
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      133
      Location:
      Norwich
      Ratings:
      +1,483
      The current FAQ still says to expect somewhere between 2-3m max for copper passive cables. Really hope they properly spec and certify a fibre solution so everyone can know exactly what they're getting. Apart from anything, it will also solve the certification issue for people wanting a certified solution for 18gbps >8m, which just doesn't exist.
       
    14. Keagan

      Keagan
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Dec 3, 2017
      Messages:
      11
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Belize
      Ratings:
      +1
      Thanks for the clarification Joe, thought my 10' cables were useless.
       
    15. mikelj

      mikelj
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Sep 4, 2006
      Messages:
      2,767
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      106
      Location:
      Chorley, Lancs
      Ratings:
      +483
    16. Keagan

      Keagan
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Dec 3, 2017
      Messages:
      11
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Belize
      Ratings:
      +1
      Thanks, I got some Zeskit high speed premium Cables. So far so good, was just worried I got too much length but it seems I’m good.
       
    17. Rock Danger

      Rock Danger
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Oct 10, 2007
      Messages:
      10,725
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Belfast - Northern Ireland
      Ratings:
      +4,562
      Arrow-AV did a big real world test on a bunch of cables here:

      http://www.avsforum.com/forum/168-h...ly-support-18gbps-hdmi-2-0b.html#post52755273

      Which made buying my PJ cable really easy and any other cable I needed as a matter of fact. He's the only person I know that will test this stuff thoroughly in actual setups as well as lab equipment.

      So it saved me having to do a bunch of research and madness cause it's all there in a big nerd file.
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice