Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Argggh - Headwarp time!! PLUGE and TT

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Boris Blank, Dec 3, 2003.

  1. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +211
    Ok, I'm helping set up a Barco 808 and I'm using Digital Video Essentials to set brightness and contrast. In TT, the settings are;

    Brightness=8
    Contrast=100
    Hue=0
    Stauration=100
    Gamma=81

    So far so good, contrast is fine, go to set brightness using PLUGE and ....... oh dear, why are there only 2 gray vertical bars when there should be 3!?? Turning up brightness in TT to 20 or so and the missing blacker than black bar appears. Hmmmm.

    Its been a while whilst I did this but am I right in saying that seeing the blacker than black bars means that I am at or above 7.5 IRE and when the blacker than black bars disappear (when lowering brightness in TT from 20 to 8) I am at 0 IRE ????

    I think thats right but just can't remember! Arrrghhh, I forget all these things sometimes :(
    Thanks
    Paul
     
  2. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,209
    3 bars?
     
  3. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +211
    Hi Keith,
    Yes the Pluge pattern in Digital VE has 3 vertical bars either side of a vertical grayscale.

    I'm pretty sure that if you can see all 3 bars then you are at 7.5IRE (if the player displays blacker than black) and lowering brightness even further, you then only see 2 bars (the 0IRE bars having disappeared into the background) but I just can't remember if thats correct and as we haven't got the amp/speakers in place we can't hear the commentary :( (hopefully sort that out this weekend).
    Paul
     
  4. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,209
    Sorry for some reason I thought you were using Avia.
    If you are setting for 0IRE you won't see below black.
     
  5. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +211
    Thanks Keith, it all makes sense now I've sat and thought about it - I'm not going insane after all!
    Paul
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice