Are There Colour coded Digital Aerials?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by riddler1999, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. riddler1999

    riddler1999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +1
    Dumb question no doubt :confused: but I dont know so I would thought I would ask.:lease:

    We have a colour coded aerial to pick up the old analouge tv signal to which our freeview box was connected.

    The problem was it gave us only a couple of digital channels. I have now run a draw cable to the outside of the roof from the digi box, as i wish to buy a decent aerial.

    Does the colour coding come into affect with digital?

    The get the best out of the signal do I need a better cable between the aerial and the box or will the standard cable you get from BnQ be enough.

    Any suggestions on a real good aerial?:thumbsup:
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    A wideband aerial with similar gain to a grouped aerial will need to have a lot more elements. The whole thing is a compromise.
     
  3. riddler1999

    riddler1999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the quick reply.
    Taken note of the cable to be used to.
     
  4. phil woods

    phil woods
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know of a good supplier for the CT100 cable?
     
  5. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    Depends on your definition of "good". :)

    Have you searched Google for ct100 coaxial cable ?
     
  6. vex

    vex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,905
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London, Home Counties & North West
    Ratings:
    +261
    You need to ask for CT100 or WF100.

    They are both brand names, not cable types so make sure you get what you are asking for. In most places asking for CT100 will get you an equivelent cable that is inferia. WF100 is of similar quality, but has a foam dialectric which is better for on site work.

    CT100 is made by one company only, Radex/CDT/Beldon (depends on when you buy) WF100 is made for Webro.

    Chris
     
  7. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    I understand that CT100 is no longer manufactured (Raydex got bought out?) and H109F is the nearest equivalent. Raydex/CDT/Belden seems to have vanished. Was http://www.raydex-cdt.co.uk
     

Share This Page

Loading...