Are strength bars accurate in "Signal test"?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by tiger123, Mar 4, 2013.

  1. tiger123

    tiger123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Are the bars representing strengh and quality or signal fairly accurate.
    If the signal strengh bar is only two notches from the left (ie V weak) but quality v high is this OK?

    Thankyou.
     
  2. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    25,267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +10,316
    If you get bad weather then you may llose the signal.
    They are an indication only but still useful.
     
  3. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    They are NOT accurately calibrated and readings would vary between boxes of the same make and model. They are an indicator intended for optimising dish alignment by maximising the readings. The metering is added to receivers for a pound or two (and have a similar accuracy to the simple satfinder/meters sold in DIY shops, Maplins and Ebay) - accurate calibrated meters usually cost approaching three figures
     
  4. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,765
    All that matters is whether or not you consistently receive all the channels.
    If you do then the system is OK, if you don't then it's not.
     
  5. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    25,267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +10,316
    The metering doesn't cost anything - it is built into the tuner circuitry and the rest is software.
     
  6. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Absolutely correct as far as it goes but, unless you're installing the dish in a torrential downpour (unlikely), the indications are useful to see if there's likely trouble ahead!

    I believe installers aim ;) for at least 60% signal, to allow for rain fade, although I've got 100% and still lose the signal very occasionally.
     
  7. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    What, you don't loose it? ;)

    And shouldn't that be plot, not signal? :laugh:
     
  8. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    I lost the plot long ago, but at least I can still speel properly! ;)
     
  9. mikelj

    mikelj
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +484
    It's also worth noting that the signal strength indicators relate to the default transponder, but you can actually manual tune to a different transponder, at which point the signal strength indicators relate to the transponder you have tuned to.

    It is entirely possbile for the default (transponder) signal strength indicators to appear fine but still lose channels on different transponders under certain weather conditions/time of day.

    Edit: Regarding manual tune, I should say that it certainly was possible to do that and as far as I know it still is possible, but I've haven't tried since my Thompson HD box days.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013
  10. robst3

    robst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    The last two transponders you have been tuned to affect the signal strength. In general, the higher frequency transponders have lower signal quality as the signal is more likely to break up.

    As said earlier in thread, as long as your signal is 60%, ie at the "OK" on the bar then you are just that OK. This will allow for some signal loss due to inclemental weather. I have seen signal quality fall to 20% and still get a perfect picture. Though that 20% was an indication of a failing LNB.

    The length of cable, quality of LNB, alignment of dish can all affect the signal quality as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...