Question Are pre-built gaming rigs worth it?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Soundwave, Dec 19, 2018.

1. Soundwave

Soundwave
      Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
      Products Wanted:
      Ratings:
      +2,403
      Hi all,

Not been in here in what feels like forever & I am hopelessly out of touch with current goings on & I have today been looking at pre-built rigs.

Are they worth it or is building your own the best way to go?

Bearing in mind I have no experience of ever building a PC before I'm considering going the pre-built route.

Ideally as well I'd like to keep the price as far south of £1k as humanly possible & will need a monitor to go with it

Games wise it will mostly be FPS with a light sprinkling of Fifa & Elite Dangerous thrown in for good measure

So should I keep plugging round the Pre-built websites or try taking the plunge & cocking one up I mean building one myself?

Thanks

Neil

2. caz2005

caz2005

Products Owned:
      Products Wanted:
      Ratings:
      +526
      You will save money building it yourself unless you maybe got lucky with some clearance hardware. I wouldn't be too intimidated to build one yourself. It's easy peasy these days. I've had 4 PCs, 2 pre-built, 2 I've build myself. The 2 pre-built started running like poop eventually. Never had a problem with the ones I built myself. I'd argue with a budget under £1k you'd definitely be better off building yourself!

Use Pick parts. Build your PC. Compare and share. - PCPartPicker United Kingdom

You can find the components and the best prices and it also has a compatibility checker and estimated wattage usage so you don't need to worry about the wrong ram type or psu etc.

Good luck :smashin:

• Thanks Thanks x 1
      • Useful Useful x 1
      • List
    3. Cha1ky

Cha1ky
      Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
      Products Wanted:
      Ratings:
      +24,832