Archos AV4100

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by davet010, Mar 16, 2005.

  1. davet010

    davet010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I'm debating importing one of these from the US, as it will be significantly cheaper.

    Am I likely to have any problems with recording or playback ?

    thanks

    DT
     
  2. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +41
    I don't think there will be problems.... don't know for sure though...
    You can change between PAL and NTSC very easily for output at any rate...
    Maybe ask Archos directly, or scan the manual...
    Support
    Manual
    I'd guess the only "problem" is if there is a hardware issue it will be harder to sort out.
     
  3. BHL70

    BHL70
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You shouldn't have a problem as they are basically the same unit. It will even come with the European .pdf manual on it.

    just make sure your TV can take an NTSC signal or when/if you record an NSTC signal record it as PAL.

    I bought one inthe US and the only problem I had was getting Archos to receive an input signal from my Sky (Pace) Digibox.

    I ended up purchasing a scart to S-vhs, composite and audio lead, the lead is also switchable. The scart adapters supplied with the Archos are not very good.

    Good luck

    Brian
     
  4. davet010

    davet010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Decided to get one over here anyway.

    Been playing with it a little, but having problems with some of the video files. Does anyone know how (or if) I can convert an .mpg file to .avi ?

    thanks
     
  5. burnrubber

    burnrubber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    For BHL70, see that you bought one of these form the U.S I am off to Florida in June as was wondering were I can get one from (AV4100)

    Thanks in advance
     
  6. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    Is there anyhing with this that I can buy that allows me to listen to mp3's through a radio, like an iTrip does for an iPod.
     
  7. Maff et1

    Maff et1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Belkin do a fm transmitter: http://www.blueunplugged.com/Products/TuneCast_II_Mobile_FM_Transmitter__Black.aspx

    Not used it myself but belkin tend to be ok (sound quality is never great on these things anyway).

    However if you plan to use this in the UK I think you need a broadcasting licence and an officially designated frequency as the laws don't take into account broadcast power. http://www.ofcom.org.uk/radiocomms/ifi/enforcement/rtandthelaw?a=87101 - have a look at the section on 'Short Range Radio Devices / FM Modulators'
     
  8. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,531
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,652
    I've got the AV420, and I use tools like DrDivx to turn Mpeg and DVDs into DIVX files that are compatible on the AV420, which I assume is similar to yours, just a smaller hard drive.

    Also try PocketDivxEncoder - its free

    Cheers
     
  9. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    Besides the capacity, what's the difference between the AV4100 nad the AV 380?
    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...