Arcam rDac KW... Or not?

Discussion in 'Music Streamers' started by chipbyrd, Jan 9, 2012.

Tags:
  1. chipbyrd

chipbyrd
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I have to tell you I come to this page as a complete novice. I have a pair of Klipsch Chorus II's and a pair of BMW 601's. I also have a good sub-woofer. *About four years ago I bought and an Onkyo home theater receiver. I also own a Pioneer SX 1250 (which I imagine still works well).

My wife and I never watch TV and we got rid of it. *I want to move my speakers upstairs and use them just for music. *I have thought about bringing up the Onkyo and connecting an Arcam rDac KW. *This will cost about $650. *We like the Arcam because it will allow us to wirelessly access our digital music. *We want to control music from our iPads.

But here's my question: For about the same cost as the Arcam, could I get significantly improved sound by buying a new receiver that has AirPlay? *Also, I have heard that two channel produces better audio quality than the home theater receivers. *Which would be better for the speakers I own? *So... Arcam / receiver? And... 2 channel / AV receiver (if wireless dac is not a good option)?

If you read all this, thanks. *You are a trooper. *If you have any suggestions, they will be greatly appreciated.

2. therixonator

therixonator

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +41
    Welcome to the forum. If you have seriously given up tv/movies then I'd recommend selling the onkyo and concentrating on 2 channels.