Arcam power amp

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by maffyboy1, Jul 12, 2015.

Tags:
  1. maffyboy1

maffyboy1
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to this, so hi everyone! I'm currently running an Arcam Alpha 8 integrated amp to drive the tweeters on my MA RX6's and an Arcam Alpha power amp for the bass drivers. My question is, can I use another Alpha 8p for the tweeters instead of the integrated amp and use the integrated amp to run both power amps?

2. stephenbarnes

stephenbarnes
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +846
    If you add another 8P, you'll have 6 channels of amplification, and only need 4. So you can use the 8 integrated as a pre-amp only.

If the Arcam integrated only has one set of pre-outs you may have a problem with not enough preout jacks, but do the 8p allow you to daisy chain them? I remember they have a mono link feature which converts both channels to mono.

3. Jampot90

Jampot90

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +51
    I use an Alpha 9P to bi-amp the centre channel.
    As Stephen says, if you use the mono strap on the 8Ps then feed left from one and right from the other you should have a good solution. By driving one woofer and one tweeter from the same amp the load on the amp's power supplies is even.
    Sharing the load is definitely the way to go imho:thumbsup:
    I think the arrangement you have now (one amp to tweeters and one to woofers) is known as horizontal bi-amping where as what I suggest is known as vertical bi-amping, but I could have that mixed up!

4. maffyboy1

maffyboy1
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for your reply guys. So, to get this clear, if I link two 8P's together, one drives the left speaker and one drives the right and they're both connected to the integrated amp? Will this be more beneficial to what I've got now?

5. dante01