1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Arcam FMJ DV-27A does really well in latest "secrets" tests

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by cybersoga, Oct 6, 2004.

Tags:
  1. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
  2. MikeE

    MikeE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2001
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chatham, Kent
    Ratings:
    +3
    I note in the review they say many of the improvements in the DV27 come from using the Vaddis V mpeg decoder rather than the Vaddis IV.

    Before I go and buy a DV27A (assuming they haven't all gone already) does anyone know how to recognise which decoder it has from the outside? Is there a model no or serial no change?

    Thanks
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    I think the A designation is the giveaway but could be wrong. Calling Arcam will probably get you the answer.

    Gordon
     
  4. kurtz

    kurtz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    last place you'd look
    Ratings:
    +21
    I see that Secrets rated the DV-27A's layer change as 0.5secs which is much faster than their rating of the DV79's (which was 2 seconds).

    Does this mean that the 27A has a better drive, or that it has more buffering than the DV79? Would the new DV29's layer change be similar to the 27A's?
     
  5. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    OK - the original DV27s and 88s used the Zoran Vaddis III (not Vaddis IV - we have never used that - it's simply a typo in the review).

    All other Arcam DVD players to date, including all DV27As, use the Vaddis 5 which is a much better chipset all round. You can recognise a 27A because it says so onthe front panel and also has DVD-Audio and MLP logos on the front panel too, plus multichannel audio output sockets on the back.

    There is to my knowledge no difference in the speed of the layer change in any of the Vaddis 5 players.

    HTH.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  6. comet

    comet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quick question then.
    Is there a differnce between an upgraded DVD 27 and a DVD 27a. i.e. does the upgraded model have the same Zoran Vaddis or not.
    I upgraded my DVD 27 and was given the impression that it would be the same as a DVD 27a.

    Many Thanks
     
  7. ANDY_DUTTON

    ANDY_DUTTON
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +87
    Hi,

    Tha Vaddis V chips set is required to do the DVD-A processing, so when your DVD player was upgraded the DSP will have been changed to a Vaddis V. There is no electrical difference between a upgraded player and a DV27A.

    Regards,
    Andrew
     
  8. malcolm mccabe

    malcolm mccabe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I have been thinking of upgrading my system from a DIVA DV88 Plus to the new FMJ DV29 but the literature on the new website does not appear to be there. Can you advise the chipset this has, I am predominantely upgrading to make use of HDMI to a Pioneer plasma? thx
     
  9. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    AFAIK, the DV27A and DV29 both use the same Vaddis V chipset. In the case of the DV29, it uses the progressive output/deinterlacing built into the Vaddis V chip, even with HDMI. The 27A uses silicon image sil 504 on a seperate board for progressive output, but it does not have HDMI.
     
  10. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    Other good thing about the DV29 is that it can apparently also output interlaced over HDMI (so you can let an external deinterlacer/scaler do this work if you would prefer it to the Vaddis V doing it.)
     
  11. spiderv6

    spiderv6
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice review.

    Always makes me feel good when someone validates my purchase decisions (stupid I know)

    The remote got slagged off (again) though......surely the message is getting through now (Mr D?)..................
     
  12. Walton Goggins

    Walton Goggins
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1

    Arcam have got the message
    People buy them anyway !

    Why bother improving the remote
     
  13. spiderv6

    spiderv6
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    so, which piece of Arcam kit do you own Walton?
     
  14. Walton Goggins

    Walton Goggins
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Spider

    Alpha 9 amp & Alpha 9 cd along with some older black stuff

    Still working great after four years

    Bought Sony dvd though
     
  15. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    the arcam remotes are horrid! I wish they would out source the remotes to the MX people like my Halo gear that uses the MX-700 & sidekick.

    CaM
     
  16. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,737
    John, does this mean the video performance of the DV27 is identical to that of the DV88+? (and is it likely to suffer from bad edits as the DV88+ does?)
     
  17. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    The DV27s in all varieties use a Silicon Image deinterlacer. The 88 plus and more recent players use the Zoran Vaddis 5 deinterlacer.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  18. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,737
    Thanks John, I'm assuming the Silicon Image deinterlacer is superior to the Vaddis 5?
     
  19. andyAV

    andyAV
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Smurfin

    Seems that the initial link has some details of the various chipsets and reading it gives the impression that the Sil504 is a better deinterlacer than the Zoran Vaddis 5 but that the later is an all in one MPEG decoder/deinterlacer and DAC - implying in my mind at least that this is a simpler and cheaper solution that using the Sil504 as a deinterlacer alongside other chips (including the Zoran Vaddis 5) for the MPEG work.

    Looks like (and I'm sure Mr D. will correct me if I'm wrong) the DV27 etc use the Zoran 5 as the MPEG engine and the Sil504 for deinterlacing and is this one of the things that has changed. If so I'd guess it's to bring the lower cost DV78/9 in at their price points which seems fair enough.

    Follow the initial post's link and investigate section 5 on prog scan.

    Andy
     
  20. Engineer

    Engineer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Smurfin,
    The performance of the Vaddis 5 deinterlacer is equal to the SiI504.
     
  21. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    imho it is not :)

    the zoran V is quite slow in comparison to the Sil503 when doing progressive scan so I wouldn't imagine it is better than the Sil504. I have an upgraded DV88+ with the Sil503 doing the progressive scan so I've seen the difference between the 2.

    As an all in one chipset though the zoran V is nice but is best used in conjunction with the Sil503/504 imo.

    Purely talking about progressive scan here....

    the zoran V is quite a lot slower than the Sil503

    i.e. in the movie Gladiator when the 'barabarians' are fighting the chariot warriors and they pan back showing the chariots racing around the Coliseum...

    a). in interlaced the Coliseum is jagged looking and the whole scene moves slow

    b). with the zoran V the Coliseum is now smooth but the whole scene moves slow

    c). with the Sil503 the Coliseum is smooth and the whole scene moves at a mucher faster pace (which is also how it looks on my HTPC btw)

    CaM
     
  22. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Is the Vaddis 5 a flag reader (ie it selects video mode or film mode according to the mpeg header flags on the disc), or does it have cadence detection? The Sil504 uses 4 field cadence detection, which means after 4 fields it is able to make a decision as to whether the picture is video or film.
     
  23. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    If they are equal, then it does beg the question why bother with the Sil504 in the dv27a ?
     
  24. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    Secrets described it as per field motion adaptive deinterlacer but not up to the standards of Silicon Image, Genesis/Sage/Faroudja chipsets.
     

Share This Page

Loading...