Arcam DV88 tips from users for a newbie.

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by NickNick, Jan 27, 2001.

Tags:
  1. NickNick

    NickNick
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've spent the past few months looking at new DVD players, I was waiting for the Sony 9000ES before I made my final decision.

    Well no CDR play back and a few other verdict in the end was the Arcam DV88 I'm still yet to physically see one, but the support I've got from Arcam so far asking them questions has been astounding (this is what you dont get with large corporate companies).

    I pick my unit up later next week YAY me.

    Anyway here's my question to all you luck Arcam owners. I have heaps of DVD's (this is my second unit replacing an old 1st gen moded Sony) from all over the world. When I get the Arcam next week it will be region 4. How do I make it support Region 1,2,4 or MultiRegion?

    Has anyone found how the Region Enhanced discs go in it?

    Anyone found a Macrovision hack?

    [This message has been edited by NickNick (edited 27-01-2001).]
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    Your dealer will be able to show you how to do what you want. We've had no trouble with RCE discs on this unit so far.

    Gordon

    ------------------
    StereoStereo
    Intelligent Solutions for Intelligent Homes !
     
  3. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    The hack for the DV88 should be on the DVD player hacks data-base when it opens. I have submitted the common one, and if you don't know it when you get your player feel free to ask.

    No RCE problems at all!

    Rick

    ------------------
    'I am just a figment of your imagination.'

    Work Site: The Sound Gallery
    Home Site: WD A.V.
     
  4. StuartBooth

    StuartBooth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I happened to be playing with the DV77 yesterday, which seemed quite quirky. Things like jumping to the preceding chapter whilst playing a disc. It just wouldn't do anything. I found I had to jump FORWARDS and then back two to get it to do what I wanted.

    Other odd quirks like not responding to the remote as I'd expect too.

    Are Arcam's just awkward or was this a duff example?

    Update: John Dawson from Arcam has been in touch re. my comments here. I seem to have got the model number (DV77) wrong as there isn't one it seems. I'm sure that's what it was, but now of course I'm in some doubt! Hopefully a rep. will check into this. Can't ask for better than that. Very impressed.

    ------------------
    Stuart Booth
    Somewhere in Buckinghamshire, England, UK

    [This message has been edited by StuartBooth (edited 28-01-2001).]
     
  5. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    I played with a DV88 while testing the AVR100 receiver. It looked a pretty decent machine. CD play was very good. I was a little put off by the amount of noise it makes. The remote is poor, the buttons are too small and tricky to figure out at times. Multiregion works perfectly, you just press open,1,1,1,1,0,1. The last 1 beiging the region code. A fine machine in all, but I would steer clear if you don't have a closed cabinet to put it in to stop the noise.
     
  6. NickNick

    NickNick
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Gordon, not sure how much they will be able to help me there. They use to stock Arcam but dont carry much now, they are getting it in for me specially. However they may get some notes from the distibutor here when they get it *shrug* who knows.

    Anyone got any comments in regards StuartBooth problems?
     
  7. NickNick

    NickNick
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Remote is not a problem as I use a Marantz RC5000 so once that's programmed I'll never use the remote again.

    How noisey? We talking like the current sony's kind of noisey?

     
  8. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    A friend on mine has a Sony 735 and I didn't notice a problem on that player. I think that it is noisy enough to be a real problem. If you have a closed cabinet that might be enough to help stop some of the noise. I Can't remember if it was noisey with just the disk spinning or when data was being accessed (searched?). I wasn't paying too much attention to be honest, I was only looking to buy the receiver.
     
  9. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    For info on the on-going development of the DV88 and the noise issue here is a copy of a posting John Dawson has made to the UK.MEDIA.HOME-CINEMA newsgroup

    "Subject: Re: Arcam DV88
    From: "John Dawson" <xwc91@dial.pipex.com>
    Date: Thu, 25 Jan 2001 14:19:36 -0000

    Gentlemen ,

    Thanks for your comments on our DV88 DVD player. We take the kind of
    issues you have mentioned very seriously and, where possible, will see
    what can be done now or in the future to remedy such issues. You
    should contact support@arcam.co.uk to receive answers or
    acknowledgements on specific points.

    In the meantime I will make a few general comments to keep you and our
    prospective customers informed. The Arcam DV88 DVD player has a
    modular construction and firmware that can be updated via CD-ROM to
    try to make field or dealer updates as easy as possible. The firmware
    is stored in flash memory and the version number is shown on the top
    left hand corner of the TV screen when first switching on, along with
    the region code setting. Current firmware is v1.4. This copes with
    most things and certainly passes the DVD Forum Class A testing labs
    certification process; however as any DVD player is in essence a 16
    bit computer and each DVD disc is a program, there is always scope for
    interpretation of the specs by both player and disc manufacturers and
    occasional incompatibilities can and will occur with all brands of
    products. If at Arcam we are notified of particular instances of
    these, they get logged and, where possible, we do aim to fix the
    problems in future firmware updates. If you want to know what is
    involved in a firmware update please contact the Arcam support team,
    e-mail as above, or tel 01223 203203 in UK working hours.

    I believe that disc playability is generally satisfactory, with the
    exception of a very few compact discs. If you come across such a CD or
    CDs in your collection, please let our support people know the nature
    of the problem and the exact details of the CD so we can obtain one
    for ourselves. In a few cases we may even want to borrow or buy the
    CD. The playability issue here is with the DVD drive maker and they
    are cooperating with us and their other users to come up with a
    firmware fix. Like the player's operating firmware, it is possible to
    update drive firmware with a CD-ROM in the field and we will be happy
    to issue this to interested parties (or more likely, their dealers) in
    due course.

    On the question of drive vibration - for any player of any brand this
    is dependent on a number of factors - the quality of the drive itself,
    its suspension system, the mechanical quality of the DVD being played,
    and the speed at which the disc spins. The speed is fastest when
    loading menus and at the very beginning of a DVD because they are read
    from the inside out. If there is some imbalance, then you get
    vibration in the same way that the wheels of a car can vibrate at
    certain speeds when the tyres are not fully balanced. This does not
    matter in practice as long as the DVD is being tracked properly but
    can be still disconcerting to the user and, in a few cases, has
    clearly been unacceptable (I certainly agree you should not get noises
    like a 747 taking off!!). In those cases we will exchange the drive or
    its disc clamp or if appropriate the whole player. Having said that
    certain DVDs are much more problematic than others, which is rather
    beyond our control :)

    For the record we do now screen our drives for vibration and are
    actively working on an improved suspension system which should
    effectively take away the issue altogether. It is envisaged that these
    parts would be retrofittable to existing owner's players should that
    be appropriate.

    I hope this goes some way to reassuring everyone of what is going on
    with the DV88. We know we have a stonking product here and we are
    committed to supporting it fully in the field. As I said above please
    contact your dealer or distributor first and then our customer support
    team for further advice. We will do our best to help.

    John Dawson (Arcam)"

    Hope this helps

    Gordon



    ------------------
    StereoStereo
    Intelligent Solutions for Intelligent Homes !
     
  10. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Well Bonus time is apon me and I have been wanting to buy one of these Arcam players to relplace my Pioneer DV606. Has there been alot of probs with the DV88?? I love the fact that multi-region is built in as I have a large R1 collection.

    Is it really worth £900 or should I be looking elsewhere for my fix ?

    Cheers

    Matt
     
  11. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Hmm my earlier reply seems to have disappeared?

    Well to recap.. are there many probs with the Arcam player.. I am keen to buy one as it a seems the bees knees??

    Cheers

    matt
     
  12. NickNick

    NickNick
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not a good start, my DV88 finally arrived at my dealer today, to then get a call in the afternoon saying it's DOA. Will play CD's but wont even think about playing DVD's..

    Bummer so now have to wait until another unit comes in [​IMG]
     
  13. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    We have sold loads of the DV88's at work and only had a few returned, maily due to software bugs. I hope this gets ironed out soon because it seems to be giving it a bad name despite the fact is is a great player.

    My only problem with it is that is has a slow load-up speed.

    Rick

    ------------------
    'I am just a figment of your imagination.'

    Work Site: The Sound Gallery
    Home Site: WD A.V.
     
  14. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    As per Retro's copmments and those of John Dawson I would like to say that the Arcam unit has not been without teething problems (we've sold a lot) but that they now seem to have got the QC under control.

    The initial software issues have been resolved as have the occasional mechanical problems. We have pulled everyone out a box and tested it and none have failed in the last two weeks (which is a long time in retail). Don't be put off by negative comments, go have a look and listen, these guys care about quality and they want to support their customers.

    Looking forward ot playing with the FMJ version!

    Gordon

    ------------------
    StereoStereo
    Intelligent Solutions for Intelligent Homes !
     
  15. NickNick

    NickNick
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I'm still looking forward to it when it gets here. I just wish I didn't have to wait another 5 days though. The main thing that we'll blow me away will be CD play back. My old Sony DVD player (which I sold a few days ago) was certainly no stunner so hopefully I might get to hear how good my B&W CDM7's really are.

    BTW is there a setting I can use to get "universal playback" or is it best to alter the region code when playing different regions for best compatibility? Was thinking of just programming macros in my Marantz RC5000 remote to handle zone changes.
     
  16. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    I write a load of comments and then lose them [​IMG]

    To summarise..

    Player is great (firmware 1.3)
    Its a bit niosy on Menus but fine in the films
    The remote is quirky and does not read well into the Sony universal 2000
    Best Pic/Sound quality I have seen.. it has improved my system no end. Ihave to go back and watch all my films.
    Use code 13 for all region play including RCE titles.

    Has anyone tried the arcam universal remote and are there any other good options other than the pronto?

    Cheers

    Matt
     
  17. NickNick

    NickNick
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the tips.

    I had enourmous troubles trying to learn a Nakamichi remote into the pronto but after a few attempts it worked.

    I love my pronto/marantz especially for Macro's one button click to turn amp on, switch on dvd, eject tray, turn on tv, set TV to component input, turn on widescreen mode, set AMP for DVD.

    Makes my system useable for everyone!

    Plus it's got Tetris if you push a few buttons [​IMG]
     
  18. NickNick

    NickNick
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I finally got it last Monday.

    It's simply magnificent, the clarity in picture and sound is superb.

    It's really now the centre piece that makes my whole system sing.

    I had no major problems programing the remote codes in to the Marantz RC5000/Pronto.

    Being able to play MP3 CD's is a bit of a bonus mind you they may sound ok on a PC but god they really sound quite sh#$ on something decent. So to all those who think MP3 sounds better than ATRAC (particularly ATRAC R) get a life! My MDSJB940 sounds waaaay better than any MP3 even at 256KBit.

    But playing CD's in the Arcam kicks the pants of everything I've heard in a while. Well excluding the Meridian 800 with Meridian Digital Speakers running TriField that just rocked! But so did the cost, well beyond my budget [​IMG]
     
  19. Safepad

    Safepad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello every1, i have just come across this verry useful forum to obtain the multi region codes for my dv88 dvd player.!

    Here is my dilema,

    Purchased this a while ago from "Richer Audio & Visual" (St. Albans, Herts), still in warranty!,
    when purchased, its default region was 2, english wrigt! no probs get the code make it multi regional!
    I rang up richer audio and visual, got the code, but i am pretty sure it was different to that one posted above! (8080) i think and every thing was fine.

    Now recently it not, some reason it switched 2 region 1, not mutliregional.

    So i got the code from this forum to make it multi again (1,1,1,1,0,0) the last digit being the region u want! Multi regional is "0". still didnt work!

    I dont want to have 2 change the code manually everytime i watch a differnt region dvd! and trust me i have Loads!!!!!

    The shops where i brought it is closed till saturday bcos of easter friday! so any ideas ppl

    Keep me posted plz

    Safepad:thumbsup:
     
  20. TomCool

    TomCool
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anybody know, which is the actual firmware of the DV88?

    I have the 1.74 on mine, but the last update's already years ago.
     
  21. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,239
    Can I suggest you visit the Arcam section of this forum, you'll find most of the answers to any questions you have without having to ask them again.

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=119
     

Share This Page

Loading...