1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Arcam DV88 Progressive Vs HCPC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Gliese 581c, May 19, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Gliese 581c

Gliese 581c

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +523
    Just about to be the proud owner of a sony 11ht projector and was wondering what would give me the better pic quality....

I have a Denon A11 dvd & an Arcam DV88P, was thinking of using the arcam for the projector as the projector doesnt have dvi/hdmi so I would use component and keep the A11 as it has dvi for when I get an updated plasma with a dvi/hdmi input...

So what would give me the best pic quality ? the arcam or a hcpc with Holo3dgraph/Holo3dgraph II card installed ? I'm not experienced in hcpc's at all and only have the knowledge of a quick forum search and reading your posts etc. As the sony has a native 1366x768 resolution, am I right in saying that through the arcam I couldnt reach that resolution but the holo3dgraph in a hcpc would ?

Any help, advice or general comments would be much appreciated.

:lease:

2. Branxx

Branxx
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    There were discussion on exactly the same topic a few months ago. Try here and here, as well as search for "dv88 htpc".

In short: sell your DV88!

3. Gliese 581c

Gliese 581c

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +523
    Thanks Branxx, im inclined to agree with your 'in short' comment after reading both threads.

hmm

4. Kramer

Kramer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also consider the other advantages of HCPC: DVD storage, TV capture (digital terrestrial/satellite), hidef (€uro1080i, WMVHD etc.) as well as media duties. PC gaming on the big screen can be fun too :)

On pure PQ well, I still think a well setup HCPC would (should) win.

:smoke:

5. dannyc

dannyc