1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

arcam dv88 component connection

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by burgeruk, Jul 25, 2005.

Tags:
  1. burgeruk

    burgeruk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    newcastle upon tyne
    Ratings:
    +17
    i've bought an arcam dv88 dvd player,and was reading the instruction manual about connecting via component,later on it says if using rgb via phono connecters you will need to use composit as sync signal?,it says elswhere use only one type of connection either scart,component,composite,this has got me puzzled.please help :eek:
     
  2. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    What are you connecting to ?
    From memory the DV88 can't output component signal and RGB scart at the same time - for the component output to work the set-up menu should be selected to S-Video or composite.
     
  3. burgeruk

    burgeruk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    newcastle upon tyne
    Ratings:
    +17
    i'm connecting to plasma,i was under the impression after reading the manual that component outputted rgb signal,i could be mistaken though,previously i've connected dvd players via scart to conventional crt tv ,so component is a new thing to me :cool:
     
  4. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    That's pretty much why it won't do both at same time.
    If your plasma has an RGB scart input - you can use that - if your plasma has component video inputs - use that - you may find there isn't much quality difference between the two - you could also try the S-Video - and see which you prefer.
    Nothing will come from component outputs if scart is set to RGB - that's the way I remember it anyway. When you select the scart output to other than RGB then the component outputs will start giving a picture.
    I wouldn't worry too much about using component with DV88 - I didn't see much if any benefit - others may disagree of course.
    If you have a scart cable handy - use that.
     
  5. burgeruk

    burgeruk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    newcastle upon tyne
    Ratings:
    +17
    ok thanks for your advice :smashin:
     
  6. Falp

    Falp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +25
    If you have a TV that accepts component like a Loewe you can get component with only fully wired Scart with your Arcam... :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...