1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

arcam dv79 purchase

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by killer10971, May 28, 2005.

Tags:
  1. killer10971

    killer10971
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,028
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +29
    im looking at getting the dv79 and have a few questions

    is it worth the extra money , i have a denon 1910 outputting via dvi to a philips 37inch lcd , will i notice the difference

    what are the layer changes like , the denon is awfull and it has a 2mb buffer

    my screen has dvi input , any problems using hdmi to dvi leads

    many thanks
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,392
    I view my DV29 on a 37" panny plasma and did notice the increase in PQ over my old but very good Toshiba SD-900. I've never used a Denon DVD player though so can't say how they compare. But then again the SD-900 was over £1000 when released.

    Don't ask :devil:
    Well I never noticed much of a layer change on my SD-900 and the DV29 seemeed to take forever at first, but I am now used to it and hardly notice it on a good disc.

    Nope! DVI & HDMI are basically the same video signal. The problem will arise though if your screens DVI input is not HDCP complient. A DVD player will not work with a screen via DVI/HDMI when the screen does not have HDCP. If the screen does not send back the correct handshake then the DVD player will not output a digital signal, unless you have a DVD player that is not HDCP or know a way to disable/remove it.

    Mark.
     
  3. killer10971

    killer10971
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,028
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +29
    thanks

    the screen is hdcp complient but i still need to find out if the arcam is worth the cash???
     
  4. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,239
    Go and get a demo of it and make your own mind up. Forget magazine reviews and other people's opinions it's what you think of it that counts.
     
  5. killer10971

    killer10971
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,028
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +29
    i have booked a demo ,thanks for the advice
     

Share This Page

Loading...