1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Arcam dv78/79 or FMJDV27A - which is better for cd and video?

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by woo88, May 17, 2005.

Tags:
  1. woo88

woo88
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello all.

I'm new to this and need some advice.

I'm in the process of getting a new home cinema/hifi set up. Home cinema is important to me, but the hifi (2 channel) performance for CDs is even more important to me. I'm not interested in hdmi or dvd audio or SACD. (I'm getting PMC GB1s, DB1+s and centre speakers, and Velodyne CHT10R sub).

I would like to get the Arcam AVR300 amp, but am undecided as to the dvd player.

Taking the above into consideration, is the FMJ DV27A player better than the DV78 and DV79 for CD listening (stereo), and video (through prog scan component)?????

Basically, is the DV27A a much better piece of kit than the DV78 or 79?

Also, would the FMJ DV27A be a good match for the AVR300 amp????

I have just seen the FMJ DV27A selling for about £950 - £1000. Is this a good price??

Please help.

Thanks.

2. Timmy C

Timmy C

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +209
    If you don't care about HDMI then the DV27A has to be the best choice. I don't use mine for cd playback as I've already got an FMJ cd player but I did give it a quick go with cd when I got it and I was shocked at how good it sounded.

Picture through prog scan component is also fantastic. I bought mine late last year for the same sort of price you're looking at now. I don't think you'll find it cheaper unless you go for a second hand one.

I'm sure Crustyloafer will post on this thread to give you details on the different players you mention but I'm guessing he'll also tell you the FMJ is the way to go.

Get one while you still can!

3. Crustyloafer

Crustyloafer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: