Arcam DIVA 89...hmmmm yes please

dr_mabuse

Established Member
Reaction score
homecinemachoice website has a feature on this new player....looks v.cool.... is it the same as the oft mentioned 88+?

I was almost going to go for the 88+ recently but I have not been able to find out if it will playback "-" or "+" format burned material, as I have some of both types.

According to the specs this one plays just about everything as well as having DVD-A and PAL/NTSC prog.

Speaking of which, I came across an ad here http://www.leconcepts.com/dvd_home.htm
for the Toshiba SD9500 recently and it clearly states that it does progressive on NTSC and PAL - is this correct? Does anyone have this player?

I am new to the whole Prog Scan arena - where can I find a list of suitable display devices that would make use of the output from such machines?

Cheers

dr_mabuse

Originally posted by dr_mabuse
homecinemachoice website has a feature on this new player....looks v.cool.... is it the same as the oft mentioned 88+?

I was almost going to go for the 88+ recently but I have not been able to find out if it will playback "-" or "+" format burned material, as I have some of both types.

According to the specs this one plays just about everything as well as having DVD-A and PAL/NTSC prog.
The DV88+ will play exactly the same disks as the DV89 ... except obviously not DVD-A.

I understand that if you buy a DV88+ now ... that the cost of upgrading to the DV89 will be around £200 (difference between then DV88+ and DV89) ... though that offer will be for limited period then upgrade will be £400.

I am new to the whole Prog Scan arena - where can I find a list of suitable display devices that would make use of the output from such machines?

Cheers

dr_mabuse
Progressive Scan is generally used with projectors and plasma tellys ... though Toshiba's newest range of CRT TV's do progressive scan (not sure if its prog scan on both PAL and NTSC or just NTSC).

Victoria

victoria/gringottsdirect