1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Arcam Delta 150 TV Tuner

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by LostInUK, May 11, 2005.

Tags:
  1. LostInUK

    LostInUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

    After getting a second-hand Arcam Delta 150 TV tuner (I know it sounds strange but it does exactly what I need), I am searching for the Instructions Manual and its remote control or the RC5 codes that I could program on a different controller.

    Unfortunately, it seems Arcam does not have any info or manual about this component anymore.

    Is anybody able to help me with this one? :lease:

    Many thanks.

    Regards
    Pedro
     
  2. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Pedro

    I can copy the manual (photocopy) for you, re the RC5 codes, not sure but I can post you a remote down to try.

    Great choice by the way, I have 2 :)
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
  4. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    The nerve of the man, where are my Bad Boys SB discs then :devil:
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    Nic: I sent you an email about the discs.(and about some other stuff presumed you hadn't replied as you were busy)....I found BB and another and sent email asking if they were in the box when you got yours or if these were others I'd picked up somewhere.....I presume the answer was that they were not in the boxes I sent.....sorry...

    They are safe here and I'll post them down to you....G
     
  6. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Cheers, think I read the email but forgot to answer, sorry :) If you post them down that would be great.
     
  7. LostInUK

    LostInUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nick,

    Nice to see you are still around. :hiya:

    I would be very thankful if you could photocopy the manual to me. I will send a PM to discuss details for that.

    About the remote, if I could have it for a while, I could try to get the RC5 out of it. I would then send it to you.

    Thanks a lot for your help. :clap:

    And thanks Gordon for pointing me in the Delta 150 direction. :smashin:

    Best regards
    Pedro
     
  8. LostInUK

    LostInUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nick,

    I have sent you an email through this forum. Thanks.

    Regards
    Pedro
     
  9. guli

    guli
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was told from a post from John Dawson that it's not RC5 codes but actually Plessy IR codes.

    I have the tuner, remote and manual, but cannot seem to program the remote codes into my learning remote (from my yamaha 750se amp).

    anyone any ideas?

    Thanks in advance,

    Alex
     
  10. LostInUK

    LostInUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

    Sorry for the delay, but did not spot this message earlier.

    As John explained you, the IR code used with this tunner is not compatible with normal remotes, i.e. the ones that use RC5 code. I had to buy a specific Arcam remote to control mine (I bought the tunner on ebay but it had no remote). So, if your Yamaha remote cannot learn Plessy IR codes, that may explain why you are having problems doing it.

    Regards
     
  11. pyro2003

    pyro2003
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    can someone send me the instruction manual ? I'm trying to decide if I can get one, so need to know remote control support and dimensions -

    i'm at gly2001@netvigator.com
     
  12. Clem_Dye

    Clem_Dye
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +188
    Can't help with an instruction manual, but here's a thought: Arcam, what about making a high quality Freeview box? I remember the Delta 150 and I nearly bought one - in fact I wish I had. Pity.

    Would anyone out there buy an Arcam Freeview receiver? Chuck in some upscaling options for HDMI, component and so forth and I'd be at the front of the queue?

    What do others think? What about it Arcam?


    Clem
     
  13. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    This was an exceptional product, I have 2 :) but I don't think it was commercially very sucessful for Arcam but certainly a lamdmark product. For me it is one of the few AV 'Classics' and to be treasured. Re an Arcam freeview box, would you buy one at £400 because there is no point Arcam competing at £40?

    Re manual, I know of no electronic copy.
     
  14. Ianfromnotts

    Ianfromnotts
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +171
    I had one of these when they first came out and it was fantastic - even better when arcam out an audio digital output on instead of the composite video. The remote was absolutley **** had at least 2 packed up but arcam replaced FOC with a multi function remote that controlled lots of stuff - I have the original instruction book if you want a copy - just pm me with your address I will see if i have any remotes left and let you know if yes
     
  15. Ianfromnotts

    Ianfromnotts
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +171
    Sorry just found what i thought was the manual but it is not it is advance product information on back ground and features. :(
     
  16. MiketheMechanic

    MiketheMechanic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi folks,

    sorry to resurrect such an old thread, but I couldn't find the answer anywhere else.

    I looked here:
    Arcam Delta 150 NICAM Stereo Tuner

    and on these forums.

    Does the Arcam Delta 150 TV Tuner have Teletext capability?

    If so, what is/was it like by today's standards? Fast/slow/accepable?

    Thanks,
    MtM
     
  17. 190evo2

    190evo2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a perfect Arcam Delta 150. It's now 2011 and can anybody give me a definitive answer as to whether this product has any use whatsoever in today's world. I'd like to use it if I can and can't bring myself to throw it away.
     
  18. Ianfromnotts

    Ianfromnotts
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +171
  19. 190evo2

    190evo2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    And does anyone know if it can be used in conjuction with the old Sony Profeel monitor?
     
  20. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    this issue is are there any analogue transmissions in your area, if there are you can. I have two....no longer used.
     
  21. spl23

    spl23
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,669
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +385
    Even if it's useful to you now, it definitely won't be in a couple of years with the digital switchover. I'm also not convinced that NICAM would be noticeably better quality than Freeview sound - it certainly won't be as good as Freeview HD with proper Dolby Digital...
     
  22. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    This device was a true reference in it's day, used by broadcasters. Given a good signal it is a VERY capable device, certainly better than my current freeview...from several sources. It got the best out of the signal rather than playing a numbers game so popular nowdays.
     

Share This Page

Loading...