Arcam AVR200 with component in/out?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by [email protected], Jan 22, 2002.

Tags:
  1. rob@rar.org.uk

    [email protected]
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hampton, Southwest London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looking to upgrade my kit in the near future. I'd really like to go for the Arcam AVR200, but I think I will need component video switching to drive either a plasma screen or a projector. Anyone know if Arcam are planning a successor to the AVR200 which includes component inputs/ouput?

    Regards

    Rob
     
  2. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I wouldn't expect a new version of the AVR200 for at leats another year, as they are busy finishing their new AV8, which does have component switching, amongst others.

    What do you need to switch from/to?
     
  3. rob@rar.org.uk

    [email protected]
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hampton, Southwest London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Switching DVD and Playstation initially, and perhaps using the component inputs to switch RGB from a digital box at some stage in the future (does anyone know if it is possible to convert RGB scart output to compnent phono/bnc?).

    Regards

    Rob
     
  4. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    It certainly is possible to 'transcode' RGBS to component YUV. You will need (currently) a box from either Kramer (prro standard ans expensive) or Digital summit (Ask Gordon he's getting one). JS technologies are due to bring one to market soon though which should be good and cheaper, and easier to use as it will take a direct RGBS SCARt connection rather than RGBS on BNC's.

    For other external switching you could try a Kramer box though as this wouldn't be too expensive.
     
  5. rob@rar.org.uk

    [email protected]
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hampton, Southwest London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. John Sim's convertor sounds like it might be closer to my budget. All I need to do now is decide which amp.

    Regards

    Rob
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice