1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Arcam AVR200 bi-amp? Expert help please

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by mrblue, Mar 4, 2002.

Tags:
  1. mrblue

    mrblue
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all
    I have a pair of Arcam P25 power amps on order , one 2 cnl
    and one 3 cnl to upgrade my AVR200.
    Could somone please advise on the best configeration for
    sound/performance?

    and any recommended interconnects to run from the
    ARV200 to the power amps?

    thank you steve.:)
     
  2. mikenruth

    mikenruth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Personal preference would be 2 ch to front L+R, and 3 ch to ctr and rear L+R. This makes a fairly even load for both power amps, thus maintaining sound quality.
     
  3. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    MrBlue: You mention bi-amping in the title. Were you intending on using the amps in the AVR200 and the P25's?You'll get a better performance from running just the P25's in a configuration mentioned by mikenruth. I would suggest bi-wring your speakers though, which gives you the option to add extra P25's at a later date.

    For interconnect between the receiver and amps I would use Chord Cobra (we use them in the shop for our Arcam A22 DAVE P23 system) £55 1/m twin mono pair.
     
  4. mrblue

    mrblue
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for your reply.

    any recommendations on the interconnects?

    I was thinking of using QED silver spiral?
     
  5. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Nothing wrong with using the QED Silver spiral, they'll give a very good performance.

    What speakers are you using?
     
  6. mrblue

    mrblue
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    mission M71s M7C1 M7DS and REL Q150 sub

    they are going to get pushed to their sconic limits!
    and I will have to upgrade soon. {sigh}
     
  7. pwoody

    pwoody
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How versatile is the AVR200 regarding speaker size when setting systems up. Can you specify Large L & R, Small Centre, Large rear & no subwoofer. Does the amp defeat the subwoofer output in straight stereo as the older AVR100 did. I am thinking of buying on what do you think of it seens how you are upgrading with power amps already, does it lack power?
     
  8. mrblue

    mrblue
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    :) well I 've just gone through the on screen settings.

    subwoofer on or off
    subwoofer stereo on or off
    main large or small
    centre large or small or off
    surround large or small or off

    If you set sub off the main speakers default to large

    I've got a CD playing at the moment and Iam using a REL
    QI50 sub with CD selected on the AVR200 in stereo mode.
    there is no LFE/lowlevel output to sub, only line/highlevel.

    the ARV200 is plenty loud enough for me, but I got such a
    good deal on the power amps I could not resist!
     
  9. pwoody

    pwoody
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info on speaker setup. Did the last bit mean no subwoofer output from amp when in cd/stereo mode as not quite sure if I got the last bit.
    On your question on interconnects try Kimber PBJ as these will make the most of your amps without costing a fortune ( kimber PBJ is better than anything I have heard under £100.) These are available from RussAndrews HiFi/Accessories. While your at, I also reckon their YELLO power cables make a heck of a difference for under £30. If you don't like anything, they offer a full refund policy. WELL WORTH A TRY !!!!!!!!!
     
  10. cpark

    cpark
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an AVR 100 and was thinking about power amps also. I was going to bi-amp the front L/R and centre channels with an arcam P85/3 and leave the rears powered solely by the AVR 100.

    Retro posted above that he would not bother with the onboard amps on the AVR and forget bi-amping when using the P25. Would this be the same for the P85?

    Would the P85/3 on its own be a significant improvement over the AVR 100 or would bi-amping be better in this case :confused:

    Any suggestions to help with my confusion?
    Calum
     
  11. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +212
    I would agree with Retro - you will probably be best off just using the P85/3 for the fronts. Of course, you can try both configurations and see which you prefer.

    Cheers,
    Liam
     
  12. Vection

    Vection
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Over there!
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just wanted to ask if anyone knew a way of hooking up the avr100 with a sub that works in stereo and DD/DTS?
     
  13. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    You will need to run the front speakers as LARGE, and run the sub inline with the speaker connections. You should then set the x-over and sub level to blend seamlessly with your front speakers.
     
  14. Vection

    Vection
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Over there!
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ta i'll give that a shot. will that config alow me to make use of the .1 aspect of dolby aswell as in stereo?
     
  15. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Providing the sub is set to off, yes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...