Arcam Alpha 9 CD Player Ring DAC

Barcam

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie on here and trying to find out some information regarding this CD player.

I have owned my Arcam Alpha 10 integrated/10P power and 9 CD player from new, must be close on 20 years now! It's given sterling service in that time with no problems whatsoever. I realise it's now all very long in the tooth but I'm still very happy with the system as a whole.

Unfortunately, recently, whilst out there was a power outage in our area, when the lights finally came back on the Alpha 9 started making a buzzing/whining noise even when switched off. ( my home cinema projector has also taken a hit and won't power up ) The frequency of this noise increased when turning on the unit and although all lights and display illuminated the unit would load but not play the disc.

It would seem that the mains transformer has failed and these are no longer available from Arcam or elsewhere. I am therefore thinking along the lines of perhaps getting another used Alpha 7 or 8 in good working order and swapping the DAC from my Alpha 9 to the lower spec player or similar.

I know the Alpha systems were designed to be upgraded at dealer level but what sort of job would this turn out to be, assuming of course that my DAC survived the power surge. Is this just plug and play or something a lot more difficult?

Thank you all in advance for your time.

Mike.

I should think if you could get a working, good condition, Alpha 7 or 8 on eBay then you could either port the DAC one way or the transformer the other. Plus you also have a spare drive mechanism which is what usually fails. You’d have to open them up and take a look. If you didn’t feel confident doing the job yourself, it would be a piece of cake for any electronic repair shop. I’m sure you could find someone in your area without too much difficulty.

Why not take the opportunity to upgrade to a CD92 which has the ring dac.