1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Arcam A85 + processor upgrade

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by ronancoll, Jan 17, 2003.

Tags:
  1. ronancoll

    ronancoll
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know anything about a DD/DTS decoder module for the A85. Does it exist and if so how much. I have recently purchased an A85 and am really happy (after the first one i got had to be sent back 'cause it wasnt working!) with it. But i have an old Yam DSP-A5 doing all the decoding duties and acting as preout for all my video sources (TV DVD SKY etc). I would like the Arcam to take over these duties and leave the Yam as a power amp only, for the rears and centre, until i can afford a P85/3.
     
  2. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +212
    I was under the impression that there would be a 6-channel input board that can take the output from a DV89 (or DV88+ with the DVD-audio board) which will have DPL, DD, DTS, MLP & MP3 decoding. I don't believe there would be a way to decode DPL from your TV or Sky, though.

    Cheers,
    Liam
     
  3. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,358
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +452
    Are you talking about the DAVE module? If so, I believe this is no longer manufactured.

    As Liam said, there is going to be a 5.1 input board but this is primarily for DVD-A / SACD not for home cinema systems.

    Sorry, you're just going to have to stick with the Yamaha A5 for now ...


    Victoria
     
  4. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +212
    DAVE wouldn't fit into an A85, either - it was designed for the Alpha 10. It doesn't have a 6-channel input, which is good for me as it means I can't be tempted by the DV89...
     
  5. vanwel

    vanwel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought the DAVE module is also available for the FMJ A22?
     
  6. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +212
    Oh yeah - the original FMJ models were based on the top of the Alpha range.

    Forgot about that.
     
  7. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,358
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +452
    Okay, my mistake ... I knew the DAVE module was for the Alpha 10 and FMJ A22 ... just though it fitted the A85 as well.

    Victoria
     
  8. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +212
    OK, here's some more info on the A85 input board from John Dawson: here
     
  9. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,818
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +376
    A 7.1 version of the A85 will make an interesting little amp ... I went for the AV8 from my A22/DAVE and will save a little longer for the P7 ;-)

    rgds

    Jon
     

Share This Page

Loading...