1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Arcam A85 + P85

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by jhjerpe, Jun 23, 2003.

Tags:
  1. jhjerpe

    jhjerpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +64
    Anyone use the Arcam A85 with the P85 to biamp? Feedback? Is it worth it?

    Cheers
     
  2. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I've run it at work briefly.

    For the money it sounds excellent, good step up over just the A85 on it's own.

    As far as I'm concerned it's worth it.
     
  3. peo

    peo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm biamping an A85 and P85 with B&W CM4 speakers. Currently using a CD72 but will probably be upgrading that to a CD93 when I get a chance to hear one/read some reviews.

    Ran the A85 on its own for a few months and it sounded excellent, but adding the P85 noticeably tightened up the sound. Fully recommend them to you, but don't expect it to sound totally different - just the same but better if you get what I mean! :laugh:

    BTW, anyone heard or read any reviews of the CD93?
     
  4. keiths

    keiths
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I've had the A85 + P85 since last September biamping my Mission 753 Freedoms. A useful improvement over the A85. Biggest improvement over just biwiring was at the frequency extremes - better bass and smoother treble. I'd advise you try and get a demo, if possible, to hear if the improvement is worth the cost to you. For me, it definately was.
     
  5. jhjerpe

    jhjerpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +64
    I will have a word with my friendly local dealer to see I can have borrow a P85 for a home demo. More cash down the AV plug hole....... :)
     
  6. jhjerpe

    jhjerpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +64
    peo, are you planning on upgrading your 72 to 93 spec? Or chaging the whole unit?
     
  7. peo

    peo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was planning on upgrading - obviously 500/600 quid for the upgrade is better than 900/1000 pounds for the CD93!

    Why? Is there a reason why I shouldn't? :confused:
     
  8. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Have you got 72T or 72?

    May need a new mech if it's a 72, may not though. :)
     
  9. jhjerpe

    jhjerpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +64
    No reason not to do the upgrade, post a review if you do! I would love to know how much better the DACs are in the 93. From what I have been told the CD93 is a very special player.
     
  10. peo

    peo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad you've heard good things about the CD93 - I haven't seen one anywhere or read any reviews - is it actually out now? Does anyone know if Arcam are accepting CD72s for upgrade yet?

    ReTrO, it is a CD72T so I don't think I'll have any probs with the upgrade (fingers crossed). :smoke:
     
  11. jhjerpe

    jhjerpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +64
    The feedback I had was from the owner of my local dealer who I trust.
     
  12. totem

    totem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    phoned arcam yesterday and they will accept cd72 for upgrade, he said just phone before to get a reference number and instructions, or you could take to your local dealer. price is £550 for cd 72 to 93 upgrade


    _____________________________________________
    my setup: Panasonic AE300 with long throw lens, Sony 32FQ75, Pioneer 757Ai, Arcam CD72, Denon AV 11SR, Monitor Audio GR20/Centre/10 & VDH cables
     
  13. peo

    peo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, thanks for the info. I think I will be sending mine off soon then, although I'd like to read a review/have a listen before I do.

    If anyone spots a review anywhere let me know. Ta! :)
     
  14. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    I don't believe there are any reviews of CD93s yet. However there is one of its FMJ version, the CD33, in the latest issue of Hi-Fi Choice. It's Editor's Choice and on the front cover too :)

    Before anyone asks, the FMJ version has a heavier and better damped case and a separate transformer for the analogue supplies. Both of these help sound quality but the two players both use the same new DAC board and have a similar family sound, if you see what I mean.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  15. peo

    peo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info John, I'm going to go for it, will be getting my 72 sent off for upgrade at the weekend I think!

    Cheers,

    Matt
     
  16. Big Jim

    Big Jim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is another very positive review of the FMJ CD33 in Hifi News.

    Enjoy the upgrade!
     
  17. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,447
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +267
    Would I be able to use a P85 with my Arcam A75+ to bi-amp my Linn Ninkas?
    Would there be an improvement over bi-wiring with just the A75+ or would it be just better to just get higher spec integrated amp?

    any thought would be apreciated.

    ps. How much would a P85 cost New and s/h?
     
  18. jhjerpe

    jhjerpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +64
    I got the P85 for #450 new, not seen many second hand.

    When I went for a demo of the A85 + P85 I was hoping that I wouldn't hear an improvement, but I did and now I am #450 poorer!

    I bi-wired to start with and to be honest didn't really notice anything change!

    Arcam do a P75 and logically would be a better match I suppose!
     
  19. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Hawklord -

    You can use any Arcam power amp for bi-amping with your A75 Plus as they are all gain matched. The more you pay (i.e. the further up the range you go) the better will be the final sound.

    So in ascending order of preference they would be: P75 Plus, P80 (due out in a few weeks), P85.

    As you can see from jhjerpe's post, it is something that can be demonstrated!

    Sincerely,

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  20. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,447
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +267
    thanx for that. What will the P80 be retailing at?
     
  21. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    P80 retail is expected to be about £420 in the UK.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  22. jhjerpe

    jhjerpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +64
    Got my P85 today and it has made a big difference! :clap: But the speaker A/B buttons are not working - this seems to be down to damage in shipping. :( So I am back of to my dealer with the amp to see if we can get it sorted.
     
  23. mick23

    mick23
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +2
    j d whats the differance in between a75+ and new a80 please.
     
  24. mick23

    mick23
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +2
    jd whats the differance between a80 and a85 apart from power output, will there be dedicated power amps for the a80, and there price, or what could be added to a80 to biamp from the older range p75 or p85 ..

    thank you
     
  25. jhjerpe

    jhjerpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +64
    Thanks to my local dealer, Hificity in Watford the P85 is now sorted. Turned out to be a minor case of the buttons getting trapped. Only needed the case taking of and screws holding the front panel to be loosened and tightened up again. Great amps and a great service.
     
  26. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Mick23 -

    The A80 is an all new design based on the topology of the A85. It has all the features of the A75 and more, with the exception of tone controls; if you want these go to the A85. The A80 is a single board design and has a much simpler display than the graphical one used on the A85, and obviously less power (65WPC vs 85WPC). Also the A85 can optinally support MC pickup cartridges and have a multichannel input board - again things the A80 can't do.

    There is a P80 in the works, due very soon.

    You can biamp the A80 with a P80 or P85. A P75 would work but wouldn't bring much to the party IMO - you are better getting the P80 which is a distinctly better power amp.

    The P80 has an RRP of £420, the P85 is £520.

    HTH.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  27. midlander

    midlander
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    John

    Is there a Diva surround processor in the works? At the minute I've got a biamped A85/P85 combination fed off the preouts of a Denon 3801. I'm just dying to replace the Denon with a processor and two more P85s. All I need is component switching and some sort of audio delay. Go on, you know you want to ;)

    Martyn

    PS: I've just thought, an iLink input for my 757Ai would be nice as well
     
  28. jhjerpe

    jhjerpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +64
    AS per midlander's, post, yes please I'll have one as well! That's 2 sold already.... now for the remaining x 0000's required to make it profitable!
     
  29. Vection

    Vection
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Over there!
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can put me down for one too!:D
     
  30. sr78

    sr78
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Oh yes, please answer that one John! With both NAD and Rotel now offering affordable surround amps, I'm getting a bit worried I won't be able to wait too long for a DiVA proc :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...