1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Arcam A65, A75, A85

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by hazard, Aug 22, 2002.

Tags:
  1. hazard

    hazard
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    While reading about the A85 I notice it has a fixed level input feature, i.e. different inputs can be set to different volume levels, perfect for use as the front two channels of an A/V setup if you don't to be fiddling with volume controls when switching between movies and music.

    Does anyone know if this feature is unique to the A85 or is it present on all three amps in the range?

    Thanks
    Fergus
     
  2. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    There is an AV processor input on the A75+, but I don't think there's one on the A65+.
     
  3. LeighM

    LeighM
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only the A85 has the ability to set the levels for each input, the A75 does have the AV processor although I'm not 100% sure what this does, on the A65 the levels are all fixed.
     
  4. hazard

    hazard
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for the info

    Fergus
     
  5. PJONG

    PJONG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes both the older A75 and the A75+ have the AV processor feature, I'm using it with a Yam AV receiver.

    Basically it takes the Yam as a normal input and fixes the gain on the signal and bypasses its own volume control so that the Yam becomes the master control, extremely useful, no messing around balancing two volumes everytime you want to watch a movie.

    It's not the best in class in terms of 2 channel use though, but it's a lot better than the stereo performance of the Yam (plus I got a good deal on it).

    If you can stetch to the A85, I would go for that, it's a big step up from the 75 in performance and can now be found for as little as £625 these days (try Billy Vee)
     
  6. hazard

    hazard
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +3
    Cheers PJONG

    Way ahead of you, I ordered the A85 today :)

    Have to wait a while for it to arrive in the local dealer but I have a new CD72T to play with in the meantime...

    Credit card is roasting today!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...