1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Arcade machines @ home

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by Bada Bing, Aug 3, 2002.

1. Bada Bing

Bada Bing

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've been running MAME at home for a couple of years, and quite fancy buying my own cabinet using MAME as a source of roms. Does anyone know how easy or difficult this process is? Or better still know of a guide online detailing how to do it?

I've also just gotten hold of an emulator for the Namco System 22 board which runs Ridge/Rave Racer. Ridge Racer 2 running at over 60fps at home is just amazing...

2. Azrikam

Azrikam

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    This might be worth looking at:

http://www.x-arcade.com/indexh.htm?ref=mamedk

I saw an article about a guy who was selling custom-built arcade machines running MAME that worked like a console. (can't find the link) The controls were all there, and looked pretty impressive, but the price was ludicrous.

3. Azrikam

Azrikam

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. fuzzybee

fuzzybee
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +72
  5. Nike Swish

Nike Swish

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    When do we get our invites to your new arcade MilesbennettDyson? Me got a pocket fulla coins and me ready to go!! :D ;)

6. fuzzybee

fuzzybee
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +72
    You take the coins I'll take the roms;)

7. NeoBlade

NeoBlade

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been looking into the scene as well, but then its probably a lot easier and cheaper to make a unit yourself. All you need is a bit of MDF, a decent monitor and some joystick parts. The actual joystick and buttons would be held in a metal case and the components in the cabinet.