APU and 6670 problem

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by silent, Feb 12, 2014.

  1. silent

    silent
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Maldon, Essex
    Ratings:
    +78
    hi

    i have purchased the following kit and setup the pc and all working well except the graphics card and crossfie.

    Samsung Green DDR3 8GB 1600mhz

    AMD A6-5400K Black Edition 3.60GHz (Socket FM2) APU with stock cooler

    ASRock FM2A75M-ITX AMD A75 Chipset (Socket FM2) DDR3 Mini ITX Motherboad

    OCZ 480 bigfoot ssd

    450 gig WD velociraptor

    corsair HX650 m psu

    MSI HD 6670 2048MB GDDR3 PCI-Express Graphics Card

    bitfinex prodigy case

    the bios has been updated to 2.8 on the mobo and the fan on the 6670 spins. under the mobo i have selected pci-e GPU as main graphics but no signal comes out at all. from both hdmi or vga. onboard graphics runs fine.

    i viewed the help files and it says to install both drivers, onboard first, then it should give you the option under the amd catalyst control to select crossfire but it doesn't.

    under device manager, the 6670 is not there at all. could the card be faulty?

    what settings do i need to get crossfire to work or even the GPU!
     
  2. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,839
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,519
    I hate to say it, but did you do the research on dual graphics beforehand? In particular it was pretty much broken for the Trinity (5000) and Richland (6000) CPU releases and only partially fixed with the recently released Kaveri (7000) CPUs. I don't know whether that was a hardware fix only for the latest generation or a software fix that was applied to older CPUs too.

    I believe that the problem was that the setup was spitting out partial frames, which triggered FPS counters but didn't render completely with the practical result that the actual visible FPS was no higher than using the card alone and some artifacts.

    So you've followed the directions in your motherboard manual?

    Step 1. Please keep the default UEFI setting of “Dual Graphics“ option on [Auto].
    Step 2. Install one AMD RADEON PCI Express graphics card to PCIE1 slot.
    Step 3. Connect the monitor cable to the onboard VGA port. Please be noted that
    the current VGA driver / VBIOS can allow Dual Graphics output from on-
    board display only. For any future update, please refer to our website for
    further information.
    Step 4. Boot into OS. Please remove the AMD driver if you have any VGA driver
    installed in your system.
    Step 5. Install the onboard VGA driver from our support CD to your system for
    both the onboard VGA and the discrete graphics card.
    Step 6. Restart your computer. Right-click the desktop. Click “AMD VISION
    Engine Control Center” to enter AMD VISION Engine Control Center.
    Step 7. You can also click “AMD VISION Engine Control Center” on your
    Windows ® taskbar to enter AMD VISION Engine Control Center.
    Step 8. In AMD VISION Engine Control Center, please choose “Performance”.
    Click “AMD CrossFire TM ”.
    Step 9. Click “Enable CrossFire TM ” and click “Apply“ to save your change.
    Step 10. Reboot your system. Then you can freely enjoy the benefit of Dual
    Graphics feature.
     
  3. silent

    silent
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Maldon, Essex
    Ratings:
    +78
    cheers, i hadn't got the gpu sitting just right, took it out and re-installed and then it went fine.

    now to try with a game. it's a media centre and it was cheap secondhand so if it's crap i'll flog it.
     
  4. silent

    silent
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Maldon, Essex
    Ratings:
    +78
    i know what you mean; tried rome 2 in cxire and it crashed majorly all the time. reverted to the 6670 and flawless medium/high settings. emailed AMD and they replied to add a hotfix to it and if tat doesn't work, RMA it for a refund.
     

Share This Page

Loading...