Quantcast

Apple iPad Pro (11in and 12.9in) Review & Comments

UMAR 3:16

Distinguished Member
I need a new iPad! Just thinking if it’s worth getting this or the 2018 model....

UMAR 3:16

Distinguished Member
Always had an iPad. Always will...

Evinger

We have two iPad Air twos. Have their place, but will never replace my iMac or MBP for work, as they are still phone-centric.
Example - if you use Folders for Business emails like I do, the mail app, & any variant I hve tried, the fact they don't collapse folders is an immediate killer for work.
I work in the Touring Live Music Industry - we all tried iPads, & they are still carried for certain tasks, but everyone I know went back to a laptop for Day to Day stuff

mikeybabes2

Distinguished Member
The recent launch of Staffpad on IOS has made my old iPad Pro 9.7” into a true music composition tool. On a 12.9” model I’ll be able to handle full orchestral scores much more easily, plus I can put all my sheets in to ForScore and effectivley replace carrying around loads of paper music. You can’t really read it on a 9.7”.

However, until we know where the economy is headed, I’m keeping as much cash as I can - plus i may be able to pick up a decent spec 3rd Gen model second hand.

A bit cheesed that you can’t use the Gen 1 pencil with the new models though.....

Kotatsu Neko

Not sure why but Apple really phoned this one in - it's virtually identical to the 2018 model and slower than the current iPhones. Rumour has it there'll be a real iPad Pro refresh later this year with up to date hardware.

In short, if you need an iPad now, buy a 2018 model. If not, wait.

Last edited by a moderator:

mikeybabes2

Distinguished Member
Not sure why but Apple really phoned this one in - it's virtually identical to the 2018 model and slower than the current iPhones. Rumour has it there'll be a real iPad Pro refresh later this year with up to date hardware.

In short, if you need an iPad now, buy a 2018 model. If not, wait.