Apple Airport Express query

Discussion in 'Music Streamers' started by skyliner34, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. skyliner34

    skyliner34
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I've had a Apple Airport Express(firmware 7.6) for Christmas. I have it plugged in via optical Sony STR-DH820 with B&W 601 S3 speakers with Apple lossless music on my MacBook Pro.

    Im reading on here people buying dedicated DACs. Is there any point for me to do this? as I've connected it directly to amp via optical.

    Also I have the express connected via wireless. Would I get better quality if I plug it in via Ethernet cable? My talk talk router is upstairs and the hi fi downstairs in the lounge. so I'd have to buy a Ethernet homeplug to have a wired connection.

    Thanks
     
  2. larkone

    larkone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,893
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    North Essex
    Ratings:
    +877
    The limiting factor is the audio quality of your amp. You would gain little from a adding a DAC and to really make it worth while you would be spending more than you paid for your AV amp. I would carry on using the DACs in the amp as you as you are now.

    If you are not having a problem with dropouts over the wireless then you would not necessarily gain by hard wiring - you would have to try it in your installation to know if it would be an improvement. Try and borrow some homeplugs to test it before spending the money.

    Have a read of the section on i-tunes in this pub to make sure you have it setup right for the best sound quality.

    http://www.linkwitzlab.com/dCS_Guide_to_Computer_Audio(2).pdf
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  3. skyliner34

    skyliner34
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi thanks for the reply :)

    The link you gave doesn't work (I'm on my iPhone so it might be that)
     
  4. larkone

    larkone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,893
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    North Essex
    Ratings:
    +877
    It works fine from my PC - can your i-phone handle pdfs?
     
  5. skyliner34

    skyliner34
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Might be iPhone then. I'll check at home later :)
     
  6. beanoir

    beanoir
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'd say you certainly would benefit from an external DAC as the onboard DAC in your Sony is not the best.
     
  7. skyliner34

    skyliner34
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Many thanks :)

    The PDF worked swell :)

    Which external DAC would you recommend?

    Also do these mains conditioners help sound?
     
  8. beanoir

    beanoir
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    A cheap one, like a beresford, cambridge audio dacmagic or something of that ilk, and probably seconhand form eBay or the like.

    I'd personally say that a mains conditioner would be a bit much though, they are a good idea, but wouldn't have anywhere near the same effect on the sound as an external DAC would.
     
  9. Steven

    Steven
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    37,464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,538
    Dacmagic can only be had second hand atm

    Maybe consider the V-Dac, thought admittedly not very "hi-fi rack". Sound wise though it is the equal of the DM based on a non-scientific test at a head-fi meet
     
  10. beanoir

    beanoir
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5

    The DacMagic is still in stock in more than a handful of richer sounds stores, it can be bought new still quite easily. The dacmagic plus will be available very soon if not already.
     
  11. skyliner34

    skyliner34
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks again guys :)

    I think speaker cable is my first upgrade. At the moment Im using some cheap Argos speaker cable (I brought it when I had a cheap system and have never upgraded).

    So I've brought QED Silver Anniversary Bi-Wire cable.

    This will improve my sound a lot I'm guessing?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice