Apple 20" Cinema Display not working with PC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by keelby1, Oct 10, 2005.

  1. keelby1

    keelby1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Grimsby
    Ratings:
    +16
    Just got an Apple 20" cinema display and connected to the DVI port on my PC and am notgetting anything other than 3 short flashes on the LED.

    Anyone any ideas or suggestions please?
     
  2. Jim_Fear

    Jim_Fear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +59
    I thought the apple ones require dual-link DVI? Or is that just on the uber-size ones?
     
  3. Pbryanw

    Pbryanw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    N.E. Lincs
    Ratings:
    +103
    No, that's just the 30" ACD. The 20" ACD should work fine with a normal DVI connection.
     
  4. keelby1

    keelby1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Grimsby
    Ratings:
    +16
    It would appear its my graphics card as it works fine with my HCPC.

    Any suggestions for a silent card with DVI output and s video?

    Cheers
     
  5. Jim_Fear

    Jim_Fear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +59
    PCIe or AGP? ATi or nVidia? :)
     
  6. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    Sapphire Radeon X700 PRO with a Zalman AL700 Heatsink set to silent...has DVI, component as well as svideo output, so you could use DVI and component out at the same time to drive you Apple and another HD display..., the card comes in AGP and PCI-E, can play the curent games with most settings set on High, the card retails for £135 and a Zalman cooler for around £25...
     
  7. keelby1

    keelby1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Grimsby
    Ratings:
    +16
    Im not into gaming at all-Will be using for HI Def and films on my Sanyo Z3,so I was hoping to spend a little less really
     
  8. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    See if you can find a Sapphire Radeon 9600. Not up on the entire model range, but I've had 64 & 128Mb versions, fanless, dvi, vga & svideo out on them. Probably around £30 quid these days.
     
  9. keelby1

    keelby1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Grimsby
    Ratings:
    +16
    Cheers-That'll be the one then
     

Share This Page

Loading...