1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AOL Broadband?

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by Muzzyboy, Sep 19, 2005.

  1. Muzzyboy

    Muzzyboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I want to connect a PC, Laptop and PS2 to my broadband connection. I have set the PC and Laptop up as a home network through a hub.

    I use AOL silver. I want to buy a broadband router that will let all devices connect to the internet without the main PC being on. Can I do this with AOL? Or should I switch to a different ISP.

    Thanks

    Muzzyboy

    :lease:
     
  2. nokiauk

    nokiauk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    873
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +47
    you can do it with aol. you would just get a router with a built-in adsl modem. use your aol username/password and away you go.

    personally i would ditch aol though they are not a highly rated isp and their software is crap.
     
  3. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    You should switch anyway cos AOL are cr@p !

    But yes, you should be able to get an ADSL modem router and connect it straight up.

    Richie.
     
  4. Muzzyboy

    Muzzyboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Recomendations for ISP?
    :)
     
  5. nokiauk

    nokiauk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    873
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +47
    if in a cable area i'd use telewest, else pipex, demon, zen, plus, f2s are good
     
  6. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Take a look at Plusnet, they've got 2Mb BB for 14.99. A few people from here havce said they are good.

    Richie.
     
  7. dogtanian38

    dogtanian38
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yes, can be done AOL just mess around a bit with the settings and install a load of unnecessary software to slow your computer to a crawl. Ditch AOL and try pipex, bulldog, demon etc.

    A slower unlimited use service could be better than a supposedly faster but throttled or restricted service. Any isp advertised on national TV or roadside posters will be useless outside of working hours once the nations children start downloading britney mp3s and 1000 smilies. Pick a residential package from a grown up and business orientated isp, and you will have a much better experience for maybe an extra pound a month.
     

Share This Page

Loading...